Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Granola Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Granola Bars

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2012

      Oh, wow!! I wish I could give this 10 stars!! To me, these were so much better than store bought. The kids liked them for the first day or so, but prefer chocolate covered ones. My son said they had too many chocolate chips in them, so next time I'll use half the chips, melted, to drizzle over the top, instead. I found myself eating them for snacks as well as breakfast. Awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I don't know how I missed it, but in the Directions there wasn't any step to include the rice crispie cereal so I totally forgot about it. These still turned out fabulously. Talk about a versatile recipe! Followed everything else, but took out chocolate chips, did 1 cup organic currants and all white whole wheat flour. Fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Texture is excellent. I've put all the butter required (non-hydrogenated margarine) and left out the sugar (just the brown sugar was already a lot, it is very sweet). I used whole wheat flour. I found that the cinnamon gave a strange taste, next time I'll leave out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      I'd never made granola/granola bars before, so I read many of the reviews and followed some of their advice: less sugar, 1/4 c butter 1/2 applesauce, wheat flour. And I changed some of the add-ins to suit my tastes - walnuts, dark choc chips (/12 cup), 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut, and bing cherries. It's a pretty forgiving recipe, and the bars come out VERY tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      Very very good. Definatley requires less sugar. Can easily be reduced to 3/4 cup sugars total for those of us looking to cut the sweetness. Whole wheat flour and brown rice cereal in place of regular rice krispies are 2 more easy healthier choices that you won't even notice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      Very good. Kids loved making with me. Made lots of changes, because I sooo need to grocery shop, but they still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      If a chocolate chip cookie and a granola bar had a baby, this would be it. We loved these, although they were not the breakfast food I was looking for. I used coconut extract in addition to the vanilla and replaced the almonds with sweetened shredded coconut. As mentioned by others, I reduced the brown sugar and omitted the white sugar. Next time ( and there will be a next time, maybe tomorrow ) I will health it up a bit with some nuts and fruits, more oats, and less chocolate. Otherwise, these are a great healthier cookie bar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      I have been making these for a while now and they are just absolutely fantastic. I never make the same batch twice as I love to experiment, but what a great base. Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      I followed this exactly, but mine are more cakey and less like a granola bar. They are quite crumbly too and falling apart. I will try again as they do taste quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      I made up some Granola and thought I would try my hand at some bars too. These are delicious and now when I am on the go, I can grab one of these for the road! These will be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      I was looking for a way to make our baked treats a little healthier, and this was just perfect! Based on other reviews I used 3/4 cup brown sugar. Instead of raisins, I added a couple handfuls of pre-chopped dates. Everyone in the family loved them and DH even had one for breakfast this morning. I will be making these regularly. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      These are great. Everyone LOVES them. They have a perfect texture of chewy with the rice crispies giving it a crispy texture also. I am known for my baking and this is one of the best things I have made. One day later everyone is asking me when I can make them again. I followed the advice of other reviews and used 3/4 of a cup of sugar. I also added a good handful of coconut. These are seriously to die for and so easy. I use 1/2 cup of butter and I cooked them for 20 min and they were a bit overdone. Next time will try 17

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Amazing, never made granola bars before!! Great recipe. Made lots of granola bars, you add and subtract as you wish and they still taste good. Thank you for this recipe, will definatly made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      Wow. Just wow. I can't stop nibbling on these scrumptious bars, but I forced myself to so I could write this review of just how amazing this recipie is! I came across this recipe and realized I had left over trail mix, left over rice kris pies, and also another cereal called honey bunches of oats (probably a handful of each, you know the ones usually left over and nobody eats them? Yeah. It's perfect for this!) Also, a few reviews said 3/4cup brown sugar, but I did half cup brown and 1/4 white. Also added leftover trail mix that had some coconut shreds, peanuts and raisins. And also, I had about a spoonful of peanut butter so I added that too- I said what the heck! It turned out great and im so glad my family did too (they don't usually like what I bake, haha) :) thanks so much, I will definitely make this recipe again, with or without the extras!
      :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      LOVE THESE! They are excellent. I have made this recipe exactly as written many times now and they are always suburb! I suggest letting them cool completely before removing them from the pan. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Really good! I made a few modifications - halved the sugar (which I always do), omitted the salt, used the raisins instead of the chocolate chips and left out the almonds so my daughter can take them to her nut-free school. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Love these bars. They are so delicious and so easy to make -- and truly nicer than anything you will ever buy commercially. We forgot to reduce the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, and will probably do so in future. Our only changes were to use crushed mini-wheat cereal (instead of a rice cereal) and an almond/sunflower seed combo for the nuts. This will go straight into my Top 100 cookbook. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      These are absolutely delicious. My daughter and I could barely stop eating them! The recipe is easy enough for kids to help out with and customizable enough it's easy to make it your own. I love having control over the ingredients I am feeding my family. Plus these taste way better than the boxed variety. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      I used a combination of rice krispies and raisin bran for the cereal and doubled the entire recipe. These granola bars are absolutely amazing. I also added a couple scoops of peanut butter to these delicious bars. Thank you for posting a great granola bar. I will be making this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Wonderful, adaptable, and delicious recipe! I left out the white sugar and used 3/4 C of brown sugar, and it was plenty sweet. To up the amount of fiber and protein (and because I didn't have rice crispies), I used Kashi Go Lean cereal in place of the rice crispies. These bars keep great, and one of them will stick with you all morning. These will become a regular recipe in our house; my husband grabs one on his way out the door in the morning, which is so much better for him than a danish or donut. Thanks, Manda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Granola Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1017 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.9
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    38%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 157.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites