118 Reviews

This is a most excellent recipe. My family said they were better than any granola bar from a store! Very easy to make. You could do it with your kids if you have some. Note: I cut the sugar to 1 cup and used organic, I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white, used only half the chocolate chips and replaced the other half with coconut. Nevertheless! Chewy, moist, and flavorful and very sweet! A big must if you're looking for that granola bar! Thanks!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow May 13, 2002

This was fantastic. I made a few changes to make it a bit more healthy. I reduced the sugar to 3/4c of brown sugar, added only a tbsp of honey, 1/2 c of chocolate chips, used whole wheat flour, and instead of rice crispies I used the Original Fiber One cereal. Cooked for only 17 minutes. They're great!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Rampage February 26, 2011

This recipe is fabulous. My husband gobbled up the bars that I made for the kids!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merlendale merlendale July 03, 2002

My family loves these granola bars. As suggested by others, I used less sugar (about 3/4 cup brown sugar, no white sugar) and they were excellent. They're a special lunchbox treat for my son :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmock September 08, 2010

This is more like a cookie bar, but YUMMY nonetheless. Soooo chewy and so easy to make. I omitted the almonds and cinnamon, upped the vanilla to 1tsp, used corn syrup in place of honey cuz that's what i had and used butterscotch chips and a handful of coconut. Next time i will omit the white sugar as well and up the oats and rice krispies.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yellow Lab Lover April 04, 2008

This is a great recipe and I might add, very versatile. I didnt have any rice krispies, and my family hates raisins...so I Increased the amount of oats and added some walnuts, pecans and sunflower seeds. If you choose to do this, decrease the amount of chocolate. Great taste and I loved the ease of it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie February 18, 2003

These are really good (and chewy) granola bars; very easy to make. Following the lead of other reviewers, we also cut down on the sugar and substituted coconut for the almonds. I mis-read the recipe and added 2 cups of the rice krispies, but the recipe is so forgiving that it worked out just fine. I think I may try reducing the brown sugar and adding a bit of peanut butter next time. My daughter helped to add the last few ingredients and pat the dough into the pan. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay August 30, 2003

Yum! Very easy, chewy and makes a lot of bars. I like these because you can use whatever you have on hand so they will probably turn out differently each time. I will be making these again! My kids, my husband and I all liked these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anissa July 07, 2003

I make this all the time and always get great reviews. I substitute white chocolate chips for regular chocolate and dried cranberries for the raisins. I also add flax seed, too. Sometimes I will use 1/4 cup of butter and a 1/4 cup of applesauce. Thanks for posting this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pierogie March 18, 2015

Another substitution review...sorry...but we are trying to cut down on sugar and eat healthier and this looked like a great recipe to play with! I used 1/2 cup unpacked brown sugar, 1 tbsp honey, no white sugar, 1/2 cup applesauce and only 1 tbsp butter. Instead of rice krispies, I used a multigrain kashi cereal because that is what I had on hand. I also used white whole wheat flour and 1/2 of the chocolate chips. I used 1/2 cup chopped cashew, almond and pecans and I threw in about 1/4 cup of ground flax seed. I'm sure the original recipe is awesome, because my concoction was really good! Thanks for posting such a versatile recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsfernie February 01, 2015
Chewy Granola Bars