50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked these. My husband said they were good, but my 8 yo. son thought they were too spicy. All the more for me! I rolled them into balls and froze them. Now I can just take a couple out whenever I want them. I ended up with 7 1/2 dozen cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Elkins November 22, 2009

These cookies were delicious! I halved the recipe, used a small cookie scoop (and still got about 60 cookies), baked on a stone for 10 minutes @ 375, and allowed them to cool for 3 minutes before removing to a cooling rack. P.S. If you're ever making a pumpkin cheesecake, try using gingersnap cookie crumbs in the crust for a fabulous change of flavor. These cookies work great for that! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 November 02, 2009

I was craving something with ginger an this was just the thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holmfridur Karlsdottir October 23, 2009

These are the best gingersnaps that I ever made. Ten stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade #3 September 06, 2009

these were AWESOME!!! I cut down the molasses to 1/3 cup, so no extra flour was needed. All other ingredients stayed the same. I balled them out with a cookie scoop, coated them in sugar, then placed them on a baking sheet and into the freezer for 15 minutes. once they were firmed up, i re-rolled them into perfect "ball" shapes and re-froze until I was ready to bake them. I baked them up straight from freezer to oven and took them out *just* as they were looking done. These are SO GOOD. Perfectly spiced, soft, chewy and dense, just the way I like em!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roweena August 12, 2009

Fantastic cookie! Made these to dip in some pumpkin cream cheese dip and they were delicious! Everyone agreed...I will be saving this recipe for future use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers April 27, 2009

Absolutely delicious!! A friend shared this recipe with me...I am so glad he did. You get a lot of cookies out of this recipe, so they are great to make when sharing with a lot of people!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loveandluck98 January 03, 2009

Really nice cookies. Needed a 'go to' cookie that was healthier and easy to do with my 12 yo step daughter. A few helpful hints that worked for us, and some minimal changes (many are already mentioned by others) 1. Added 2 teaspoons grated fresh (peeled) gingeroot along w/ wet ingredients. 2. Substituted nutmeg for cloves 3. Add 1/4 cayenne pepper (not too hot, no worries) 4. SIFTED the flour and added more as needed to sticky dough. Don't over add--just as trishypie recommends. 5. Don't overcook. 10 min is perfect. 6. We put dough in the freezer for 20 min before starting, and in between batches as well. Makes it easier to scoop using a melon baller, and to handle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smokey2020 November 03, 2008

We are chocolate chip cookie people, but this is great for something different, especially in the fall. Mine turned out too flat, and they were impossible to roll, even after chilling for an hour. I did put more flour in, as suggested, but I was afraid to put too much extra in. Next time I will anyway. They were nice and sparkly, but I'd like them to be a bit plumper next time. I got 7 dozen 2-3 inch cookies. There are cookies everywhere!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy October 25, 2008

I started making these a year ago. They are now the only ginger snap cookies I make. They turn out beautifully EVERY time. They taste really good with the pumpkin dip recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Red Bug October 23, 2008
Chewy Gingersnaps Sparkle Cookies