51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't even begin to say what a PERFECT Gingersnap recipe this is!! I made them light on the molasses and slightly heavier on the spices and I have never tasted a better Gingersnap! These are so good I have to say they have beat out the most perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe I use and are now my #1 cookie recipe! One of the many sweets I made for Christmas I had to force myself to leave these so we could finish the other sweets that I knew wouldn't stay good as long. A week later and these cookies were just as good as the day I made them! Thank you so much and my husband is ever so grateful that I found a good Gingersnap recipe since only one grocery store that we've found makes decent ones and they are expensive there.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jomom75 December 30, 2010

This is more of a comment than a review, since I have not made them yet, though I am sure they are good, but, by definition a ginger snap cookie is brittle, i.e., it "snaps" when you break it. Consequently, calling this a recipe for chewy ginger snaps is a bit oxymoronical. Better to call them what they are, chewy spice cookies. Otherwise we end up with things like, hot gazpacho soup, instead of just vegetable soup, because as soon as it is heated it is no longer gazpacho.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christopher M. June 23, 2015

The cookies were pretty to look at but I found that the cookies left a bitter taste of molasses in my mouth for quite a while. I won't be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadie57 December 17, 2014

I made these for our soldier overseas. They packed well and he loved them! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds April 03, 2013

We loved these! A nice change from chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter cookies over and over. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets September 28, 2012

I've tried several recipes and this is the most amazing gingersnap cookie recipe I have made. I use the ginger in the tube and measure generously. I also grind whole cloves. I like mine super chewy and soft so I only bake for 8.5 minutes. They do seem to stay fresh for a while (if they last that long). I don't think you will be disappointed with these cookies, give them a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k.lazz_13125760 January 01, 2012

I made these Christmas morning only to find out I was out of molasses!! Oh dear. I subbed corn syrup and they turned out great. Moist, chewy and delicious. Will try them again with molasses for sure. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
funkylori December 25, 2011

These are really great! I'm currently in the midst of making them for the 3rd time in less than a month for the holidays. They were demanded for Christmas Eve. ^^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly See December 24, 2011

The first bbite in this yummy cookie is heaven,Its rich tasting but low n fat.It taste like it has chocolate in it but it does not.I used splenda instead of sugar.I must say the prep time is way off. I would change the prep time to 25 minutes.Thanks for this recipe. Merry Christmas

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 1086570 pigpurple December 14, 2011

This is possibly the best cookie recipe ever. I didn't even like gingersnaps, but made them for a party and hubby. They are so good, the almost didn't make the party. The are crunchy and chewy and oh so perfectly flavored. Didn't change a thing. I used a 1" cookie scoop and got over 90 perfect 2" cookies. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ofleader November 27, 2011
Chewy Gingersnaps Sparkle Cookies