55 Reviews

I can't even begin to say what a PERFECT Gingersnap recipe this is!! I made them light on the molasses and slightly heavier on the spices and I have never tasted a better Gingersnap! These are so good I have to say they have beat out the most perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe I use and are now my #1 cookie recipe! One of the many sweets I made for Christmas I had to force myself to leave these so we could finish the other sweets that I knew wouldn't stay good as long. A week later and these cookies were just as good as the day I made them! Thank you so much and my husband is ever so grateful that I found a good Gingersnap recipe since only one grocery store that we've found makes decent ones and they are expensive there.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jomom75 December 30, 2010

I've made these cookies for several years now and they are wonderful. I agree with some of the other commenters that they really shouldn't be called 'gingersnaps' as they do not snap, but they certainly are delicious. I've found that the recipe as written DEFINITELY needs a bit more flour if you want the cookies to be chewy. I also like to add a tablespoon or two of grated fresh ginger. This adds a bit more moisture so again a little more flour keeps them chewy. Not only are they a lovely, pretty seasonal cookie, I've had several pregnant friends swear by them to prevent morning sickness as well! They do have a pretty heavy molasses flavor, so if you aren't a fan, using a bit less can't hurt. I've found baking them for a shorter time and letting them cool a bit on the cookie sheet helps with getting them off the sheet in one piece, while letting them stay chewy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessy T. December 02, 2015

The cookies were pretty to look at but I found that the cookies left a bitter taste of molasses in my mouth for quite a while. I won't be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadie57 December 17, 2014

Everyone loved the way these cookies tasted. We gobbled them down. I should have added more flour, though. The cookies were completely flat even though I chilled the dough before rolling. Easily remedied next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 02, 2010

I halved the recipe and this made oodles of gingersnaps! I love the consistency - they're chewy just as named! I would have liked mine to have been more spicy, but they were very good otherwise.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny March 24, 2010

Wow, these are delicious! I ran out of molasses and used only 2/3 cup, and they still taste fantastic. I also added a little nutmeg. This recipe will definitely be frequently used in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz J December 23, 2009

This yields a beautiful cookie after I made some of the revisions suggested by other reviewers. As per other reviews, I reduced the molasses to 3/4 cup, and increased the cinnamon to 3 teaspoons, the cloves to 1 1/2 teaspoons, and the ground ginger to 2 teaspoons. I did not increase the flour amount as per other reviewers because I had already reduced the molasses amount. I made everything by hand--i.e. no hand mixer--and it took me about 45 minutes to make the dough. I baked the first batch for 10 minutes and the cookies came out too soft and undercooked in the middle even after cooling for half an hour. So I baked the second batch for 12 minutes and let cool. That made the cookie firmer on the outside and chewy on the inside--perfect. The next time I make these, I'll increase the cinnamon, cloves, and ginger a little more for a cookie with more bite. Without the increase, I agree with the other reviewer who said this cookie would have been too bland. *Note: this cookie freezes well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 January 16, 2016

I made these cookies and they where VERY good I couldn't stop eating them ?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbrandonthomas December 22, 2015

Amazing!! Brought these in for some of my co-workers and they couldn't stop talking about how good they were. Soft and chewy and the flavors of the spices with the molasses make the perfect gingersnap. Definitely will make these time and time again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmsimkin December 16, 2015

This is more of a comment than a review, since I have not made them yet, though I am sure they are good, but, by definition a ginger snap cookie is brittle, i.e., it "snaps" when you break it. Consequently, calling this a recipe for chewy ginger snaps is a bit oxymoronical. Better to call them what they are, chewy spice cookies. Otherwise we end up with things like, hot gazpacho soup, instead of just vegetable soup, because as soon as it is heated it is no longer gazpacho.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christopher M. June 23, 2015
Chewy Gingersnaps Sparkle Cookies