Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Fruit & Oatmeal Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Fruit & Oatmeal Bars

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2002

      I'm having a love affair with oatmeal right now! This turned out a bit more cake-y than I expected but it tastes great and is still plenty chewy. I added dried cranberries and dried cherries. Great as a breakfast bar, dessert and cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      These have good flavor and not too sweet and healthy to boot. I did use Splenda for the white sugar. I baked for 32 min. and that was too much. Next time I will only leave in for 28 or maybe even less. They stuck to the bottom of the pan but I was able to loosen them with a spatula. I think I will spray with Pam next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      Tasty, especially for being low fat. I am eating my 3rd piece right now. Used a glass pan and didn't have any problems with them sticking. Used one whole egg instead of the whites, and used golden raisins for the fruit. Also used plain fat-free yogurt. Mine were perfect in 28 min.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      We really liked these. I used Splenda instead of sugar, 1 egg instead of 2 egg whites and canola oil instead of vegetable. Followed the rest of the recipe as written. I added one cup of dried blueberries. I'm glad I checked mine while cooking. I set the oven for 28 minutes but checked at 24 minutes and they wer pretty brown. They had a really good taste to them. Just enough sweetness. Will be making them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      These are very good. Made these to take as healthy snacks for a family road trip. I only used a 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 whole egg (didn't have a use for 2 yolks), sprayed the pan with PAM and used a combo of dried fruits. Will individually wrap them for our trip and along with some other snacks will hopefully avoid the costly and unhealthy snacks at the roadside stops! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Cake-like, but still chewy! And most important - healthy! I used wheat flour and only brown sugar, kept it in the oven for about 30minutes and the result is great - a crisp from the outside and soft, not too sweet and chewy on the inside... and the dry fruits (raisins and plums) add great flavor to every bite. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Wow! Delicious! These were so tasty and are my new granola bar recipe. They hold together very well even though I used gluten-free flour, and I love the fact that they used yogurt as its flavours really shone through. I also used a whole egg as broke the yolk while trying to separate it :) Thanks for posting this tasty recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Very very good, fast, and easy. Made a few changes because I think I'm not biologically capable of following a recipe exactly...Added some extra spices (cloves, nutmeg, allspice); used whole eggs because I'm too lazy to separate them (at least I'm honest!); used 3 Tbsp of unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil. Followed another reviewer's comment and used whole wheat flour. Normally I make very healthy low fat muffins for the hubs, I tried this for a change and it's a winner. Also much easier to clean a 9x13 pan compared to muffin tins! Thanks for posting. Mary

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Loved it! I substituted whole wheat flour, splenda brand, brown sugar mix, and natural peanut butter for the oil, I used no refined sugar, it was sweet enough with just the vanilla yogurt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Made these to enjoy after working out at the gym! They worked perfectly! :) Only used the brown sugar (didn't add the granulated sugar). Added some raisins and cranberries to the mix. Thanks Mirj! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      These are my favorite granola bars! SO much better than store-bought ones and best of all they are super healthy! To try something different i use vanilla-apple cinnamon yogurt and it worked great! Thanks for the great recipe Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      I was looking for ways to use up some egg whites and came across this recipe and was so glad we made these delicious and healthy bars--what more can anyone ask for. I used some leftover mixed dried fruit from the holidays which I was also trying to use up. These will be great for "break", snacks or even for lunches as well as desserts. Thanks for sharing - we will be making these often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Fruit & Oatmeal Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.9
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    14%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 94.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried mixed fruit

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites