Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / ***** Chewy English Flapjack ***** Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    ***** Chewy English Flapjack *****

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2011

      It always makes me wonder when after a lot of good reviews and then bad that it might not be the recipe that is at fault! Loved this, perfect :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Have meant to review this a long time ago. i've probably made this flapjack recipe at least 10 times now. apart from the first couple of times where it was either undercooked or overcooked, the rest of the attempts have come out perfectly. I've found with my oven that i have to cook this at gas mark 3 and slightly longer by about 5-10 minutes. It's a great recipe and have made so many varieties with great success. made choccy chip ones for the kids and then turned them into energy bars by using a variety of sunflower seeds, pine kernels, raisins etc... for my cycling enthusiast husband! i won't be using another flapjack recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      This is my favourite flapjack recipe. Yesterday I made it using Suma Olive Oil dairy-free butter, and 100g of dark chocolate chips. Totally vegan, and totally delicious. Especially just warm out of the oven, with the choc chips all melty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      great stuff

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Works a treat at 160Deg/20Min in the fan oven, its been an age since I've bothered to make these, now I need to head out and buy more porridge for the morning before anyone notices, mine were made special (at a price...*Shock) with dried coconut and diced brazil nuts, Nom Nom Nom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Yum yum yum :) great recipe just like I remember flapjacks thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      what a total waste of ingredients. It was sloppy and not enough oats. I would give this recipe a 0 if I had the choice. I made flapjack at school years ago, and it was perfect. There seemed to be rave reviews about this, so I thought I would give it a try. NEVER AGAIN!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Excellent recipe, flapjacks turned out perfectly chewy which was exactly what I wanted. Was a little worried when I took them out of the oven as the mixture seemed overly loose and soft. But once they'd cooled they were perfect. They only needed about 20mins in my oven. I made these with my 3 year old daughter and she loved helping mix and add in the extras. We added chopped apricots and nuts. I agree that you can use less sugar and syrup and they are still a deliciously sweet treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Very easy and very tasty. It just misses a 5 because it is a bit too sweet for my taste and only needs 20 (not 30) mins in the oven. A great basic flapjack recipe though. Will make again with minor adjustments. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      i made this flapjack last night. its so easy to make and quick too. loved it! mine was very tasty i added a little bit of chopped up dairy milk too.i think it only needed 20mins in my oven though. yummy i will be making more very soon . thanyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Yes, this is the recipe from my childhood! Best if you use demerara sugar or light muscovado. And don't make more washing up - melt the butter and sugar in a pan large enough to hold the oats too, then just mix them in when you take it off the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Excellent , excellent!! One of my favourites from an English childhood and this recipe is spot on. The ingredients list looks very plain, but believe me these are deliciously chewy and moist and moreish. If you are making them for the first time just make the basic recipe - they are best that way. These are so easy to make I gave the recipe to a young frined who had never cooked before and they came out perfectly. The mixture should be a bit loose and sticky when it goes into the tin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      yum these are soo good,i added a couple of good sized dollops of chocolate spread to mine aswell as 3oz of mixed fruit to make them even more tasty.I cooked them for 20mins at 180c and they were perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Thank you for posting this - with the picture...I have been wanting to make these...for over 20 years, since my mom passed away, and we never found the recipe for these. I now live in Europe so I never thought I would find a way to make these. With the automatic conversion on the site it makes it so simply, I am really pleased and I will give it to my lady friends here in Italy tomorrow for "la festa della donna" - it is sort of like mother's day, but it simply is "women's day"..Grazie mille! (I will have to wait until Monday to buy the ingredients...no shops open here on Sunday!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Superb! This was my first attempt at any sort of baking and they turned out absolutely wonderful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      What a great treat, easy to cook and great to eat for the whole family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Hi, i changed the amount of oats to 6oz and added 1oz sultanas and 1oz raisins and cooked at 160c for just under 30 minutes... the flapjack turned out to be soft and chewy... just how we like it. It took a few attempts to get it just right, but i got there in the end.... Happy Cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      My family, my schoolmates and everyone else who has had one loves these! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      I doubled this, used a bit less sugar and syrup, as per the comments, and both raisins and mini chocolate chips. Quick and easy to do. As an American you have a strange feeling of 'what is this?' It isn't a cereal bar, it isn't an oatmeal cookie. It was still a bit too sweet for me. Just a bit crumbly, I cooked it just about the time the recipe indicated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      These are very tasty and easy to make. I agree with Kate Geraghty though, these are too sweet. I would suggest using less sugar and golden syrup and adding a pinch of salt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for ***** Chewy English Flapjack *****

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.5
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    42%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 27.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 143.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 24.2 g
    97%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites