13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

AMAZING recipe!, Very rich chocolate flavour. I would suggest cutting the flour back just a bit OR when rolling, flatten slightly before baking or they won't go flat enough if you bake from a round ball. Other than that they are PERFECT! I also use regular chocolate chips instead of white chocolate.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eagertrv July 30, 2013

Super chocolatey, nice and soft inside with a crisp outside. I added a bag of chopped Andes mints instead of chocolate chips and they were nice and minty. So far, everyone that has tried them has loved them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Briemarie December 18, 2011

This are probably the best cookies I've ever eaten. I used a 1/2 Tablespoon so my cookies were uniform and would cook equally then I rolled them into a ball. Although coming out of the measuring spoon they already came out ball-like. The cooking time was spot on...10 minutes for a chewy and moist on the inside while a little crispy on the outside. I also added walnuts. They were perfect with a glass of milk. I had made them so I could share but I"m thinking I will have to make another batch if I plan on sharing. I can't wait to try more of MaMa's Apprentice's recipes. These will definitely be a regularly used recipe in this house

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tabasco0697 May 03, 2014

I changed these up to make them GF (gluten free) and allergy friendly for my kid. I also added Andes Peppermint Crunch baking chips along with mini semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the white chocolate chips. In place of the eggs I used Ener-G egg replacer (mixed with warm water and allowed to stand), and replaced the wheat flour with 1/2 cup white rice flour, 1/4 cup corn starch, 1/4 cup tapioca starch, and 1/4 cup sweet rice flour. Added a bit more flour- tapioca- until it looked "right"... maybe 1/16th of a cup? And 3/4 tsp. Xanthum gum. Also changed the sugar around using a cup of the brown sugar and 1/2 cup of the white.<br/><br/>I know, it sounds like a different cookie... but the basics (including baking instructions) were all the same. <br/><br/>Big hit with gluten and non-gluten eaters alike.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathy172_3481320 November 17, 2013

Wonderful recipe. Very chocolate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruthie Y July 04, 2013

These are delicious cookies. Thick, crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle and so chocolately. The cookies dough was so good LOL. But the 2nd batch, I rolled them into balls and baked for 11 minutes. The cookies shaped perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB October 09, 2011

Thanks for making MaMa's Apprentice Chef of the Day! This cookie recipe jumped out at me. Made as directed, but rolled into balls before baking. They were perfectly formed cookies and just yummy. If Mama's other chocolate chip cookie recipe is as good as these cookies are, I can hardly wait to try them. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers September 27, 2011

These are FANTASTIC! I used M&M's and chopped up some Hershey kisses instead of using chocolate chips. I ended up with a thicker than normal cookie dough batter lol, and was afraid I messed up the recipe. Anyway, I got forty cookies out of one batch and had to freeze thirty six of them to avoid eating them all at once:) I guess the cookie dough in this recipe is just thick. Thanks for posting, I will use this recipe from now on when I want to make double chocolate cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frozen On the Artic March 26, 2011

I made these cookies for a group of darter friends only I put peanutbutter chips in mine. By the end of the night they where all gone, with great reviews!! Thanks Mamas Apprentice for posting them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tacelprup December 05, 2010
Chewy Double Chocolate Cookies