Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Cocoa Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Cocoa Brownies

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2013

      When I couldn't find the book with my usual brownie recipe, I decided to try this on I have had saved on my to-try list for a while. Big mistake. The dough is hard and thick, almost impossible to spread. I originally was going to make brownie bites, but I could not get the dough off the spoon and into the paper liner, without the liner coming back out with the spoon. Generally, it was a royal PITA. So I revised my plans and decided to make regular brownies. I couldn't grease the glass pan, because then it would not spread, it just slid around and stuck to me, the spoon, the bowl, etc. So I finally put it into an ungreased glass pan. After baking at 350 for 35 minutes, it was still uncooked on the inside, hard and dry on the edges, and didn't look like brownies should.<br/><br/>I have made a lot of different brownie recipes. This is the hands down absolute worst recipe I can ever remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      moist and chewy - just what I was looking for :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Very Flexible and tasty brownie with a nice soft yet light texture. I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 9x9 pan, also used a really good quality dark cocoa powder instead of the suggested baking cocoa. I then cut these into harts and placed atop of Raspberry Sauce and layered with White Chocolate Mousse for a very special valentines treat. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      These had great flavor but were really dry. I followed the recipe exactly as written (I even went back and double checked as I thought I had done something wrong). I did not add the optional nuts nor did I top the brownies with sugar. I only cooked for 15 minutes so I didn't overbake so not sure what went wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      These brownies were so good I literally had to force myself to give most of them away so that I would stop eating them. I followed the recipe for the most part, but I added a little bit of dark chocolate to the melted butter and a little extra water. Even with an extra table spoon of water the brownies were really thick and hard to spread in the pan. I got it in the pan and then used a piece of parchment paper to press them down into shape. Worked perfectly. I was a little worried, because of how thick the batter was, but these turned out great! I live in Germany now and they don't really have brownies, but even the Germans liked my "traditional American cookie" :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Really wonderful brownies! Used to babysit for this awful woman when I was a little girl and the only reason I ever accepted her jobs was because she had these amazing brownies... Tried a bunch of recipes and this is definitely close if not better than the ones she used to make! Easy recipe and a total hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Best homemade brownie recipe I have found!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      FINALLY!!! I even substituted a little applesauce for the butter and used half whole-wheat flour...and they were still moist and rich! I agreed about the little crackly layer on top -- that made it! Oh, I also used a silicone brownie pan which makes a huge difference. The outside was as moist as the inside. Thanks for sharing and we'll be baking these for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is a really good recipe! It's hard to make good brownies "from scratch" and I usually don't attempt. But my daughter got an easy bake oven for Christmas and I promised to bake with her last night. We couldn't because we didn't have a 100-watt light bulb. So I had to come up with something else quick! These brownies were so easy to make and came out moist and chewy, just like a premium box mix. The batter was very thick, which made me a bit skeptical, but they turned out just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Oh, Wow. I just ate "a few" and these brownies are delicious. They were a small but chewy, very moist with the top flaky, a bitter not too sweet taste, but chocolaty-enough to satisfy that brownie or chocolate craving. I made it just as the recipe called for, softened the butter a bit by microwaving it, the batter was smooth, not at all dry, and baked in a 13x9 cake pan for 25-30 min. Cut them up 6 by 8 to make 48 pcs (each should be 1 pt. on WW). TIP: Adding the confection sugar not only makes it prettier, but adds a touch of sweet flavor. It definitely was a hit and on my recipe book. :D thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      These had good flavor, but are very crumbly, so I'll keep looking for the "perfect" brownie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      awesome!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Great tasting brownie if you don't want it too sweet, a nice balance of flavors. Nice and moist inside but I thought the top was a bit too hard kind of crumbled when I cut it I don't know if others had that same result.... but still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

    • on July 30, 2009

      OMG.... These are the best brownies I've ever tasted!! I baked 'em for 18 min to keep 'em gooey and it was perfect! LOVE THEM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Yum! these were moist and chewy just the way I like them. I didn't add the powdered sugar to the top but other than that I followed the recipe. Very good recipe, this is a keeper! TY so much for posting this recipe. These are sweet and go great with a cold glass of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Great brownies! I love that they are made in a 9x13 pan. Really easy to whip together. I definite keeper when I want something sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Extremely easy to make and delicious! I served these warm with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce :-) I would say they make more like... 12-16 servings though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Okay, I tried these a second time and replaced 1/2 of the butter with peanut butter and everyone loved them. My first review was as follows .... I thought these were the best brownies I ever had but my husband said they were to chocolatey, I didn't think that was possible. Anyhow I am only giving 4 stars based on his review. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Great for Brownie Sundaes! But cant say that it served 48 though! hehe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Cocoa Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (20 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.5
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    41%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 44.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites