311 Reviews

EXCELLENT cookie, and VERY chocolatey! Even with very few chocolate chips it is still extremely packed full of chocolate flavor. They baked up flat as paper though, and I'm in low altitude (FL) so I added 1 cup of flour and they baked perfectly. DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarapotamus August 24, 2008

Delicious! Have made these with semi-sweet and peanut butter morsels. Will try with nuts this week for my pecan-loving father. They are so rich and do stay moist. My friends, neighbors, and I all thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy C July 28, 2008

WOW not that this recipe needs another 5 star review but when I come across a good recipe I have to say something!! Great cookie. A really nice welcomed change from the classic chocolate chip cookie. I used Reese's peanut butter chips, and followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. They are flatish but I like them that way. . . flat and chewy. My boys and I had a great time making these, thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Clary June 01, 2008

I made these today & they really turned out nice. They are a little flat, so I think next time I may add a bit of baking powder, but really I like thinner cookies anyway. I only had 1/2 cup of baking cocoa so I experimented & made up the difference (1/4 cup) with some hazelnut flavored hot cocoa, & used 1 cup of sugar & 1 cup of brown sugar, also added about 1 T (maybe a little more) of instant coffee & about 3/4 cup of chopped macadamia nuts & 2-3 T chopped dark chocolate (is this even still the same recipe lol). This is obviously a very forgiving recipe that turned out great cookies, your yield is probably pretty accurate as well, (although I didn't count). The way I made them, they turned out wonderfully rich & decadent. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yrhaven (aka Condiment Queen) May 27, 2008

Yummy! A little too sweet for my own personal preference, but my family loved them. I left out the chocolate chips, but will add them next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
13guppies October 31, 2007

I had a group of men (DH's college buddies) who crashed on our porch and I had nothing to nibble on, so I quickly made these cookies. I only had butterscotch chips, but they were devoured nonetheless... and I downed a couple as well they were so rich!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 August 20, 2007

Yuummmmyyy is all I can say. They are really easy to make. I used parchment paper and let them cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes before removing them to finish cooling and they came off with no problem at all. Thanks Theresa for sharing a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PA Cindy November 13, 2005

This recipe is so good and more flexible than you might think. If you read the other reviews, people change it radically. I tried it as is BUT substituted Guittard mint chips and some semi-sweet chips and they are awesome. I baked them for 10-11 min because we like bigger cookies. The cookies are a little too sweet for me so I am going to try them with a bit less sugar and a bit more flour but I dont think that will alter the basic baking and taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann M. August 17, 2016

I just popped these in the oven i couldn't try the batter because i'm fasting but my brother did and said its amazing. Its a great recipe even with out a mixer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jawahir.albayati July 04, 2016

I just made these cookies with the suggestion of another poster to add 1/4 peanut butter and minus 1/4 cup butter. I have to say, these are absolutely delicious! Easy and chewy and just yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen C. June 14, 2016
Chewy Chocolate Cookies