291 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Saw this recipe and had to try it. My hubby is not a big chocolate fan and he wasn't very excited that I was going to bake these instead of something else. Needless to say, he quickly changed his mine and keeps going back for more! He already asked me not to give any away. He's usually pretty critical so that tell you how good these are. They are like a bakery cookie. Followed the recipe to a T and don''t think I would change a thing other than trying different flavors of chips or maybe adding some nuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamimcelrath March 11, 2010

I am soooooooo happy I found this recipe! These taste exactly like the big chewy chocolate cookies I used to spend $5 or more on from Whole Foods! I have been searching for a recipe that would come close to them and this is it! I can't wait to share the recipe with my friends who I am sure will love these also! It costs less to make a batch of these than to buy one little container of theirs which usually only had like 6 cookies in it. I followed the recipe to a t only using the semi sweet chips and baked mine for 7 minutes exactly each time using a teaspoon of batter and it made 7 dozen on the dot. I'm happy it made so many so I can send some off to my husbands work. Thanks for this amazing recipe!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley S. August 25, 2009

A little TOO sweet for us and too chocolate-y if that's possible. I like that they are thin and chewy. My preschooler loved it and had a good time helping me make them. Probably yeilded close to 60+ cookies. Tried the marshmellow pieces on a couple but that kinda messed up the underlying cookie's cooktime (still goey batter underneath after 8min)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Amaze-Ing Me August 09, 2009

Super yummy. They sure do turn out flat! I used parchment paper while baking so they wouldn't stick. They were very tasty full of chocolate flavor. Had to store them in the fridge since it's so hot here in southern california, but that did not affect them in a negative way. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey July 28, 2009

excellent taste, but turned out so thin i wanted to fill them and make them sandwich cookies. good brownie-like flavor, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
butterscotchgirl May 03, 2009

I can't believe that I had forgotten to write a review for these cookies. They were absolutely EXCELLENT! This recipe made ALOT of cookies. I left out the morsels because I didn't have them on hand. The recipe calls for basic staples, aside from the morsels. This is one reason I chose to make them. I also see that they have accumulated many great reviews. As one reviewer had said, they do flatten after cooling. This was not an issue for me. They stayed soft and chewy for a quite a few days. Thanks. Super recipe to pass on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wylder April 23, 2009

These cookies had a great taste, but I found they flattened out way too much once they had cooled. I think next time I will cut back on the butter and sugar and add another egg to make them more fluffy. I will also wait a bit before I move them to cooling racks as a few of them fell apart when I tried to move them. Thanks for posting! They taste delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uwgirl April 18, 2009

We really liked the flavor of these. They had a good ratio of cookie to chocolate...mostly chocolate with a little bit of cookie to hold it together! They were super yummy...especially right out of the oven with whipped cream on top. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chalko March 06, 2009

These were absolutely fabulous. I made them to freeze but none made it to the freezer. Everyone loved them. I had to add more flour to get mine not to flatten out but I think thats my problen, not the cookie. I will definately make these again, maybe this time some will make it to the frrezer. I was able to get some to the freezer and they worked just great. I layered them between waxed paper in a cookie tin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 January 11, 2009

EXCELLENT cookie, and VERY chocolatey! Even with very few chocolate chips it is still extremely packed full of chocolate flavor. They baked up flat as paper though, and I'm in low altitude (FL) so I added 1 cup of flour and they baked perfectly. DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarapotamus August 24, 2008
Chewy Chocolate Cookies