301 Reviews

wow this is one good cookie! i made some changes: i used 2.25 cups of whole wheat flour. i also used 1 cup of white sugar and half a cup of brown sugar. i substituted 1.25 cups of margarine for 1/2 cup margarine, 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/4 cup peanut butter. i put in 2 cups of mini nestle semi sweet chips and baked them for 10 minutes which was definitely enough for these cookies....absolutely delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elana in New York June 16, 2013

I cut the recipe in half, and added slightly more (maybe 1/4 cup) flour after reading some comments... But hands down the BEST cookies I've ever baked, even the day after still chewy and fabulous! I might try white chocolate chips next time for some colour contrast but this recipe is PERFECT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MmmrsBe October 15, 2011

Absolutely scrummy! My sons and I have already made these twice :-) I used only 1.5 cups of sugar and left out the chocolate/ peanut butter chips and they were still heavenly!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neelima December 11, 2010

These are fudgy, deliciousness. I used half extra brut cocoa powder, making for a lovely dark chocolate cookie. I was surprised just how flat they got, and there's been some difficulty with them holding together especially on the 2nd day. I wonder if a couple TBLS extra of flour would help? I used semisweet bits, and might use mini chips next time. I love that the buttery flavor comes through the chocolate, all and all a scrumptious cookie. Made for "October is National Dessert Month" in the photo forum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet October 16, 2010

My 12-year-old just finished making a batch. We were going to make float-your-boat brownies, but she wanted to make something that would look nice to take over to a sick friend. She used our kitchen aid for the mixing and only added a generous cup of chocolate chips. She insisted on using the exact measurement of a teaspoon, which I thought looked to small, but she was right. The finished cookie was adorable at 1 1/2" around and baked for exactly 7 minutes. After my seven-year-old had one, he said, "Tummy, you have met heaven." I think you'll agree.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
palm715 June 01, 2010

Unbelievably Yummy!!! I have always thought Choc. Chocolate chip cookies were not my thing b/c they taste more of pure chocolate than cookie. Having put this down to the dough being chocolate; before today I have never attempted to bake any myself. Thank you for this recipe!! I admit I only put in one cup of chocolate chips, and it is still out of this world chocolatey without tasting like a pile of melted chips, the cookie is beautiful! I did find it easier to use baking parchment, and noticed the cookies need to puff up and have a smattering of small airbubbles throughout before they were done. These aren't going to last long and will be made again!! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ange du soleil December 20, 2009

So.... I didn't make them with exactly the ingredients listed, BUT.... these are AMAZING!!! My changes were: 1/2 unsalted butter, 1/2 pumpkin puree & 1/4 cup natural peanut butter instead of 1 1/4 cup margarine, I reduced the white sugar to 1 cup instead of 2 and add about 1/4 cup honey and finally I used Andes mint chips instead of peanut butter and chocolate. This dough is to die for! The finished cookies...... no words to describe! DELICIOUS only comes close. My daughter was asking for chocolate cookies of some kind and I think she will be VERY happy with these!! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead October 19, 2013

It's not as if these need another review - just had to weigh in - these are terrrrific. I made these in the food processor in about two minutes with Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa, which is the only way to fly, and added chopped walnuts. My 92-yr-old dad gobbled 'em up. Great cookies - so easy - thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Happy Woman June 12, 2013

I loved this cookies...they were perfectly firm with a little chewiness. I made a few adjustments. I used a combination of real butter and Crisco. (I do this for all of my cookies.) I also substituted 1/2 c. of brown sugar with some of the white. I used white chocolate chips and they got rave reviews. I am the baker in my family and this recipe didn't dissappoint! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary_K February 25, 2012

Delicious! Thanks for the recipe! Instead of measuring out teaspoon fulls of batter, to cook...I did tablespoon fulls. My family loves giant cookies. It took about 13 minutes to cook, and still taste great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
familyof6 June 05, 2010
Chewy Chocolate Cookies