18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My 15 year old daughter made eight dozen of these for her classmates at school, (that means they had to be simple to make) also I thought they tasted great, this cookie actually stayed nice and soft. thanks I know I'll be making these often.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ROSE ROSTKOWSKI April 18, 2002

"Do not overmix" usually means "mix the minimum amount possible". So mix the ingredients enough so that the flour is *just* mixed in. If you mix any recipe with flour too much, the end product will end up tough. This is especially important for pastries, especially things like pie crusts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat July 01, 2002

i reduced the amount of salt on this...1/8 was way too much salt for only a batch of 24 cookies lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lanemalori@yahoo.com April 08, 2011

This is the best chocolate chip cookie recipe that I've tried in a long time! I changed it up a little by baking it all in pampered chef baking stone pan for 15 minutes and then cut into bars. This went over awesome at my son's cub scout event... they were gone in no time! I recommend these to anyone who loves chewy cookies that taste great because they are definitely chewy & yummy!! Thanks Kat for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Kay Mama of 3 February 04, 2011

I have never made cookie in my life and these were an amazing start for me! My boyfriend and my housemate both loved them....SUCCESS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nai_Bean January 02, 2011

I halved the recipe as well. The dough was a bit thin, but they still turned out marvelously.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 August 17, 2008

These were good, and they do stay soft, but I'll keep looking for that perfect chewy choc chip cookie. To be fair, I had 'Zaar halve the recipe, which resulted in 2 eggs — maybe that's too much. But the "dough" was extremely soft; no way could anyone "roll into balls" for baking. Refrigerating a bit didn't really help much, though maybe a longer chill would have. As it was, they really spread out and bumped into each other on the sheet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith K. August 04, 2008

Fantastic! I doubled the vanilla b/c I think it gives them a bit more flavor. Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jo_mama April 06, 2007

5 stars all the way. Absolutely LOVED this recipe. Served warm or hot these things are DIVINE. I'm at high altitude so I had to add a little extra flour and cook them a bit longer, but they still turned out srumptious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baroness Bushytail June 03, 2006
CHEWY Chocolate Chip Cookies