34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing! I put in an 8x8 pyrex covered with foil, then into a 9x13 pyrex with the water in it (make sure the water is boiling first, otherwise cooking will take longer). Baked for an hour at 350 and it was perfect! It did seem a little "crumbly" compared to what I remember from Chevy's, but I did use a couple Tbsp less butter, and only 1/4 c sugar. Was not dry though. And between 6 of us at dinner, the entire thing was gone. A huge hit! Served warm, after sitting a bit from the oven.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks June 15, 2011

Woowhee!!! We had a Tex-Mex Christmas Eve dinner and I brought this. It tastes just like the Tamalitos from Chevy's and was super easy to make,. I had never heard of cooking in a water bath before, so I was nervous. I poured it into an 8" pyrex covered in foil, and set it inside of a longer pyrex half full of boiling water. It cooked at 350 degrees in about an hour and 10 minutes. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camel_Cracker December 25, 2009

I love sweet corn!! The first time I ever tasted this dish was at my favorite Tex-Mex restaurant. It was served on the side of the plate, and not only would they NOT give me the recipe, they wouldn't even tell me what it was called... LOL! Thanks Erin for posting this recipe! I used fresh super-sweet corn and it was heavenly! :o)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. May 06, 2002

This recipe taste just like the Tomalito from Chevy's. To make it simpler I added an additional cup of water and cooked in my rice cooker on the brown rice setting and came out perfect!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amdeke November 04, 2010

very rich and sweet, also you can micrwave it on high. make sure it's in a hot bath and cover also, it takes about 15 min. stir half way through.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kecbrown January 29, 2008

These were JUST what I was looking for!! These were easy to make and just wonderful in taste and texture! I used the water-bath-in-the-oven method, covering the 8" pan tightly w/foil and putting it in a 9X13 pan filled partway w/boiling water. (Don't cover the 9X13 pan.) It baked up very nicely at 350 for 1 hour. Also, at the tip of another reviewer, I let the tomalitos cool and served them w/a cookie scoop. Superb! ~ Jeff's Girl Way Out West

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff's Girl Way Out West February 18, 2006

Made this this last weekend to go with shrimp fajitas, and it came out perfect! Have always wanted to make it after getting the little sampling at Chevy's. I made it in the oven, covered the dish in tin foil, and placed that dish in a casserole dish of water. at 350 degrees. i did the prep work in the noon hour, kept it in the fridge, then placed in the oven an hour and 15 minutes before dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Randy T. November 03, 2014

I had my doubts about this because the dough looked funny but it did come out nicely. This is best when it's fresh, it doesn't really keep well. The tomalitos were good, but not something I'd make again due to the amount of work involved and the fat content.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holly Blackwell February 12, 2008

Was this ever yummy! I ended up using a 9" pie plate, since that's all I had on hand, and it fit perfectly over my pot. Next time I will double the recipe so that it is thicker and moister (mine was too thin and dried out a bit on me). But very tasty, very similar to Chevy's. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht July 30, 2007

Perfect in every way. The water in the boiling pot needs replenishing at least three times. Letting the tomalitos cool allows you to form balls to put on the sides of your guests' plates.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BondGirl November 25, 2004
Chevy's Sweet Corn Tamalitos