Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chevy's Sweet Corn Tamalitos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chevy's Sweet Corn Tamalitos

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2011

      Amazing! I put in an 8x8 pyrex covered with foil, then into a 9x13 pyrex with the water in it (make sure the water is boiling first, otherwise cooking will take longer). Baked for an hour at 350 and it was perfect! It did seem a little "crumbly" compared to what I remember from Chevy's, but I did use a couple Tbsp less butter, and only 1/4 c sugar. Was not dry though. And between 6 of us at dinner, the entire thing was gone. A huge hit! Served warm, after sitting a bit from the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Woowhee!!! We had a Tex-Mex Christmas Eve dinner and I brought this. It tastes just like the Tamalitos from Chevy's and was super easy to make,. I had never heard of cooking in a water bath before, so I was nervous. I poured it into an 8" pyrex covered in foil, and set it inside of a longer pyrex half full of boiling water. It cooked at 350 degrees in about an hour and 10 minutes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      I love sweet corn!! The first time I ever tasted this dish was at my favorite Tex-Mex restaurant. It was served on the side of the plate, and not only would they NOT give me the recipe, they wouldn't even tell me what it was called... LOL! Thanks Erin for posting this recipe! I used fresh super-sweet corn and it was heavenly! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This recipe taste just like the Tomalito from Chevy's. To make it simpler I added an additional cup of water and cooked in my rice cooker on the brown rice setting and came out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      very rich and sweet, also you can micrwave it on high. make sure it's in a hot bath and cover also, it takes about 15 min. stir half way through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      These were JUST what I was looking for!! These were easy to make and just wonderful in taste and texture! I used the water-bath-in-the-oven method, covering the 8" pan tightly w/foil and putting it in a 9X13 pan filled partway w/boiling water. (Don't cover the 9X13 pan.) It baked up very nicely at 350 for 1 hour. Also, at the tip of another reviewer, I let the tomalitos cool and served them w/a cookie scoop. Superb! ~ Jeff's Girl Way Out West

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I had my doubts about this because the dough looked funny but it did come out nicely. This is best when it's fresh, it doesn't really keep well. The tomalitos were good, but not something I'd make again due to the amount of work involved and the fat content.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      Perfect in every way. The water in the boiling pot needs replenishing at least three times. Letting the tomalitos cool allows you to form balls to put on the sides of your guests' plates.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      I have thrown out my old El Torito copycat recipe for almost the exact recipe. In its place I have now added this to my permanent recipe file. I cooked the tomalito in a 3-piece bamboo steamer in a castiron pot on the stove. First I placed the bottom third of the bamboo steamer in the pot, next the second tier on which I put a piece of parchment paper, added the tomalito mixtue on top of the parchment, lastly I sealed the top tier with a piece of foil then placed the bamboo cover on top of that. Tried cooking the mixture both ways-in the oven in a "Mary's bath" and on top of the range with excellent results with both methods. Today when I made this I was out of cornmeal and substituted polenta with no negative effects. Consistency a bit different, but that could have been my imagination. Noticed it took longer though to cook on the range than in the oven. But I have a tempermental electric stove, too. Thanks for sharing. CG

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      Thanks so much for posting this recipe. We have always loved this dish as served by various Mexican restaurants, but I could never replicate it before this. I followed the recipe exactly except after wrapping the pan in foil I put it in a boiling water bath in a 350 oven for 1 hour. It was perfect!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      They taste just like the resturants'; sweet. I cheated and used creamed corn and omitted the water, so it might have come out a little moist. I love that I can now make these from scratch. I'll try frying them next. By the way, other recipes have them in an oven with a 350 degree F. temperature for about an hour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      Made this this last weekend to go with shrimp fajitas, and it came out perfect! Have always wanted to make it after getting the little sampling at Chevy's. I made it in the oven, covered the dish in tin foil, and placed that dish in a casserole dish of water. at 350 degrees. i did the prep work in the noon hour, kept it in the fridge, then placed in the oven an hour and 15 minutes before dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      I gave this 4 stars for the taste and for figuring out Chevy's unusual recipe. I can usually figure out recipes just by eating the dish, but this time I was stumped.<br/><br/>My only difficulty was the cooking method. I steamed it as instructed. After 2 hours it was thicker but still not cooked enough for a knife to come out clean as noted in the recipe. I put it in a 350 oven for 20 minutes with some more water poured on top, because I noticed the cornmeal was getting dryer but was still gritty. After that it was the consistency I get at Chevy's (baked pudding consistency), but again not thick enough to pass the clean knife test. <br/><br/>Next time I plan to try my microwave rice cooker. <br/><br/>Anyway, the flavor is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      IT'S DELICIOUS!!! I made some important modifications and simplified the process a bit. Based on the previous helpful comments, I added more moisture...

      You will need a 7x10" glass pyrex baking dish, or similar (if doubling the recipe) and
      a 9x12" pan/ baking dish, or a pan larger that the one above for the water bath.

      I doubled the recipe so that I would have leftovers.

      Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. As oven is preheating, fill a 9x12" glass pyrex pan 1/4 full of water (the water bath) and place in the oven.

      Add 1 egg to step #1. I would also add the milk here since it is a wet ingredient. Increase the milk to 3 tablespoons (or 6 if doubling the recipe).

      I added one 4-ounce can of diced green chilies to step #4. I would add 1 1/2 cans if doubling the recipe. I doubled it and only used one can. While it did enhance the flavor, the chili flavor was barely there.

      After you mix all ingredients, place in the smaller baking dish and cover with foil to hug the dish. Set in the water bath baking pan (that has been preheating in the oven).

      1 hour and it was moist AND flakey. The salt and sweet balance was PERFECT! It was not like the consistency of bread pudding (runny/mushy) nor was it dry and crumbly like Marie Callendar's cornbread that was begging for some honey butter or something to make it more moist! This recipe won't disappoint! No need to add butter or honey!!! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Where has this been all my life!!! Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      I made this recipe because I like the Chevy's version, and realized after making it that I like it better when I make my own. The restaurant makes it a little sweet for my taste, so it's good to be able to adjust the sugar a bit. I used 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/3, and otherwise followed the directions. It was great! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      thank God i found this recipe its me and my husband's favorite everytime we go to chevys, but now we can have it anytime. the recipe is perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

    • on December 19, 2008

      I absolutely love it. We moved far away from anywhere near a Chevy's and really missed this stuff. I steamed for 20 min and baked covered in foil at 350 in a water bath for 35 and it came out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      We loved this! I cooked it covered in foil in the oven at 350 in a water bath for 45 minutes. It turned out perfect. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chevy's Sweet Corn Tamalitos

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.5
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    35%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 375.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    44%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes