Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chevy's Salsa - Original Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chevy's Salsa - Original Recipe

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2011

      The real deal!!!! I used to much garlic, and made it to spicy but, it was so close. The black pepper is the missing link!!! It smelled just like the real deal!!! I've been trying for years to copy this,, thanks so much! You're right, the popular recipe on the web w/the liquid smoke is a joke, not even close. You rule! Note I only used 1 teaspoon of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Good recipe. Comes pretty close overall. Agree with other commenter that dialing down the salt to 1 tsp is a good idea. Also agree with recipe contributor that the liquid smoke is a problem -- I tried that take and it was so bad I had to throw out the whole batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      This turned out excellent, but a bit too spicy. The next time I made it, I reduced to 1 jalapeno, 1 tsp. pepper, and 1 1/2 tsp of salt. It tastes very much like Chevy's. I've made this numerous times now, and I find that the more I blacken the veggies on the grill, the more authentic it tastes. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Liqued Smoke? Vinegar? What the Scallop??? NO!<br/><br/>Chevy's Salsa gets its unique flavor from the roasting process. The more you roast the veggies, the fuller the flavor will be. If your salsa comes out light pinkish, the veggies were not roasted long enough.<br/><br/>(A former girlfreind was a Chevy's Store manager, and she would make this for me at home.)<br/><br/>Thanks for posting this, it's the correct recipe. Not a CopyCat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      So bomb! My go to recipe for salsa. I make this all the time when we have friends over and the first thing they always say is

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      This salsa is perfect for me with two medium-large peppers. If you like Chevy's salsa, you also don't like too much heat in your salsa. I made the recipe exactly to this and found it a bit salty, but the saltiness subsided after a couple of hours. I've been using 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt because I like to eat the salsa fresh and warm. Makes 32 ounces. I love Chevy's salsa but my wife doesn't like the smokey flavor of it all. Broiled, this is perfect for her. Grilled (On the BBQ) was too smokey for her (But smelled GREAT!) Much like Reeser's Restaurant-style salsa, too, which disappeared from our stores which prompted me to find this recipe. For less heat, use smaller peppers. For more, use bigger peppers. Adding or subtracting a whole pepper is too much, either way. Oh... I also use the ripest Roma tomatoes that I could find. <br/><br/>To compare costs VS buying salsa, I used the 16 ounce tub. Each 16 ounces costs me about $1.22 in ingredients. The whole batch was $2.44. So, my time was worth the savings versus store bought fresh salsa, but I just had a hard time keeping the family stocked with this stuff. It goes better than twice as fast into the mouths of those who appreciate wholesome, home-cooked foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      You are absolutely right that this recipe is legit! Our Cub Scout leader was manager at a Chevy's and we got a tour of the kitchen and a lesson on how to make this famous salsa. No vinegar, no liquid smoke. They roasted on a large jelly roll pan under a broiler, not on an actual grill. Other than that, it looks great. Maybe that copycat recipe guy should be in Cub Scouts ;o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      I don't care for the "burnt" taste of Chevy's salsa. To me, it doesn't taste fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Great recipe. I made a tweak of course because while Chevy's salsa is amazing it is very mild. I use either two or three jalape?o peppers and add a Serrano to give it some heat to go along with the flavor. I also reduce the salt. I have also found it helpful to brush the vegetables with olive oil or toasted sesame oil prior to grilling them. This adds to the smoke flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      This was AMAZING! We only used 1 cored jalapeno, and we also added grilled red and yellow bell pepper as well. It tasted just like the chevy's salsa even with the added pepper! Great job thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      I made this tonight and it was awesome! It could probably use a little less salt, but it was way yummy! I used my home grown organic tomatoes and fresh veggies from the store. I too only used one tsp of salt and NO smoke flavoring. Excellent. I am going to have to hide it from my husband so I can get some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chevy's Salsa - Original Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 25.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    20%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 470.7 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites