Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2008

      My crab cakes fell apart in the oil... not sure what I did wrong. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      5 Bright Star!!!!!!! While visitng my daughter in Alaska we found ourselves with left-over crab :shock: and this was the perfect answer! Prepared as directed and served crab sliders (on small buns). Served with the Remoulade Sauce from Baby Kay's Shrimp Remoulade. However, instead of horseradish in the sauce I substituted chopped dill pickles . . .PERFECT! Thanks for Sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      awesome!!! i substituted poblano chiles for green bell pepper just for fun. also used panko bread crumbs so they were nice and crispy. thanks, this one's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Classic indeed - just can't get enough of them! Wish crab wasn't so expensive - my family could eat these daily for sure. Minced the onion and bell pepper very finely - everything held together well (I did refrigerate after reading others' advice) and the light dusting of bread crumbs before frying made them a slightly crisp on the outside, succulent on the inside perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Classic crab cakes at their best! I halved the recipe and made small, "bite-size" crab cakes for appetizers. And yes, refrigerating them for a couple hours after you form them makes them perfect for frying. Not one of them fell apart. These are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Wonderful crab cakes!! I accidentally added everything in without realizing that I had halved the crab, but they still came out wonderful. I will definitely have to chilll them next time to see if they stay together better. Thanks for the great recipe! There weren't any left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I have made this recipe several times and they are delicious. I've made them regular size for an entree and minis for appetizer, everybody raves about them everytime I make them. I use red onion and red Bell pepper, a bit more of both than what the recipe calls. Lately I've been broiling them instead of frying them and they are fantastic and healthier! If you're going to broil them don't coat in breadcrumbs and broil for 5-6 minutes on each side. YUM!! I'm making these again next week for a dinner party and my mouth is watering already!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Made these for my hubby and he said..."I've had alot of crabcakes and these are the best I have eaten" he ate 3 large cakes! I usually search and go with the highest rated but I have tried Nurse Di's recipes before and they are always great! Glad I choose these. Took Glorias review into consideration and chilled about an hour before frying. I made the rest as posted with the exception of green onions for onion. Came together and held together beautifully! I wasn't sure if the 1/4 cup butter was to be mixed in but figured it out when I mixed evertyhhing but the butter and it was dry, so I added a& it worked great! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Outstanding ! I used red bell 'cause I had one that needed to be used and red onion not white. Took 2 eggs to get 'em to stay together and a little maore mayo. I used 1 whole lemon. Hubby said they were the best he has ever eaten ! Great recipe NurseDi ! Thanks for sharing !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      These are great! I have learned with crab cakes if you chill them for several hours (the butter solidifies) and turn them only once while cooking they come out beautifully. Gloria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      These crab cakes have so much flavor. The only things I did differently = minced scallions vs onions, red pepper vs green, and I coated my finished cakes in panko crumbs. Thanks for this keeper of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      An fantastic recipe. My husband said it was the best crab cake he has every eaten. We live a mile from the Chesapeake Bay and have eaten seafood all of our life. It is a simple and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Great crab cakes. I have been making cc's from a recipe I've had for a while but these were so much better. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      Tried this recipe, and it was outstanding. A must keep for future parties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      Update on the 9/9/05 rating. I have made this 2 more times since my last review. Being from southern Maryland, crab cakes are near and dear to my heart. The perfect crab cake has little filler and lots of crab. This is it. I did learn a couple of things I'd like to pass on. The oil for frying should only come up half way on the cakes. Too deep and they will foam and fall apart. Also, do not fry more than 4 at a time. More will cool the oil down too much. And lastly, make plenty, these get gobbled down real fast. Thanks again for a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.3
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    43%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 72.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 346.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes