35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were fantastic! Flavor was spot on.

Having read other folks' issues with their crab cakes falling apart, I used a muffin pan as a mold, and refrigerated the whole thing for about 20 mins before breading them. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AD #2 March 16, 2011

I have never made Crab Cakes before, I was pleased how easy it was. A great recipe, better than any I have had at the well known Restaurants. I also chilled them for about 2 hours before I cooked them, and they were just great. Thank you for putting this one on the site - Try it, you won't be disappointed!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyPat December 08, 2007

I'm not going to assign stars because I'm just not very good at pan frying so I think any deficiency is of MY making, not the recipe's. These were very tasty but frying 4 to 5 minutes on each side would be WAY too long ... but that may be my problem. I wanted the oil hot enough to fry and not soak the patties with oil and I thought I had that achieved. But the patties came out darker than I thought they should. Very very tasty though and even with my inexpertise, my husband said they were "close" to five star and better than he has had in many restaurants. I will work on my pan frying technique. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie February 25, 2012

Amazing! The best crab cakes I've ever eaten - and I've eaten many. It's one of my favorite foods. I followed the recipe exactly as written, and they were superb. Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roggins July 16, 2010

These are EXCELLENT! I had previously tried another crab cake recipe on here that we loved, but this surpassed them. This is the perfect pairing of crab and ingredients so the crab is the center stage. My husband is a crab cake afficionado and states these surpass any he's had. I serve mine with Tabasco (same way I eat my baked clams) and it's HEAVEN! I also broil these about 7 minutes per side. Perfect. Will definitely make this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 02, 2010

wonderful, had fresh crab and made these last night followed recipe exactly, just broiled them instead of frying.The crab shines through as it should . thanks for this one

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keyes123 September 11, 2008

Thank you for a delicious recipe. I tried it tonight using fresh backfin crabmeat. I used finely ground Pepperidge Farm Herb stuffing for breadcrumbs and used Smart Balance for the butter/margarine. I followed Debonweb's advice to chill them before frying ...I used Tauter sauce #239662 and served with cole slaw. Everything tasted so fresh and NOT greasy. I gave my Mom half and will use the rest for a delicious sandwich with shredded lettuce for tomorrow's lunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittydogblu March 10, 2008

This was my first time to try making crab cakes on my own. They were very easy--don't know why I thought it would be difficult? The blend of seasonings was nice and very tasty. Not overpowering. The cakes held together well. The coating was crunchy and the inside was tender. We dipped them in seafood sauce. Very delicious and will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaB October 29, 2003

Very disappointing to me, but maybe because I used canned premium white crab meat. I drained the meat til it there was no water. It seemed to me that the patties needed more moisture- maybe another T. of mayo. The breaded cakes browned very fast and just wondering if these would have been better floured.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjoyce1 September 11, 2013

Absolute winner here. I did find that the crab cakes didn't need much frying time at all, only about 2-3 minutes per side. I used 1.5 lbs. of crab meat and got 10 cakes. Loved red pepper in this and all of the layers of flavor. I served a quick sauce (mayo, Dijon, capers, lemon) with the crispy crab cakes and we had one heck of a delicious dinner. Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr October 07, 2012
Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes