Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheryl's Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheryl's Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2002

      This was delicious, HeatherFeather! The glaze with the hiont of orange is so good! Very Moist!Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      Heather! This recipe is wonderful, my family really enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing it. I did make some adjustments to the recipe...I added the zest of two oranges into the cake mixture. That gave the cake a nice tinge of orange. Something I like with poppy seeds. And i I baked the cake in a bundt. It took exactly 1hr and it was ready. Great golden brown on the outside...and really nice and moist inside. This is a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      My family loves sweet breads and this is one of our favorites. We've been making this recipe for over 20 years and it always is a hit. Much better than those muffins you see in the stores and very easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      Heather, this is SO good! Just enough orange flavor in the glaze really made it special. This is a very easy recipe to make. I love poppy seed cakes and this is easier to make and tastes as good or better. Very moist. I didn't change anything in this recipe. It's perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      I make this same bread but mine calls for 2 tablespoons poppy seeds. Recipes were almost exact except for that. This bread is SO GOOD. I have made it a lot. Great recipe, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This is great bread. My recipe also calls for 1 1/8 cup oil and other than that I followed the recipe exact. It made 7 mini loaves when filled 2/3 full and took 35 min to bake. I poked holes in the top with a toothpick and poured on glaze after it cooled 10 min. Perfect bread..light, sweet, great. Everyone should try this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I was going to post a similar recipe, but found it's already here. My only difference is I use 1 1/8 c oil rather than 1 1/4. And I use granulated sugar in the glaze, not powdered. Not big differences. This is my ultimate favorite poppy seed bread recipe -- and I tried a few before trying this recipe. I usually make 5 mini-loaves, baked for about 35 min, rather than big loaves. The glaze really "makes" it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      This looked and smelled good, but seemed a little too 'eggy' for me. I even recounted my shells to be sure I didn't use too many. It tasted good, but didn't knock my socks off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      I actually found this when I was hoping to post the same one (with a few slight variations on measurements). This is something my uncle used to make for me as a little girl before he passed away. I had my aunt looking for weeks to find it because none other can compare. Glad to see it here. Try it, you will not be disappointed!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheryl's Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.5
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    39%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 42.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 204.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 37.5 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites