8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was outstanding - mostly because my hubby couldn't tell it was healthy. He said, "How could I not like something that's so creamy and cheesy." Well, I hadn't added any cheese... that's just how good it was. The only changes I made was to use wheat saltine crackers since that's all I had in the pantry and I didn't use any oil to cook the chicken in. I think the next time I will try different spices on the chicken...taco seasoning would be great. I love when my hubby tells me that I have to make a dish again... he said that at dinner last night between mmmmmm sounds :) Thank you for posting this healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee August 08, 2009

Great simple recipe. Family loved it, and it baked up so quick. I made it to the letter, and the whole time I was wanting to mix in some vegetables. I decided not to, and the result was surprisingly good. Just make sure to serve some on the side. :) Sauce was tasty, and didn't need much seasonings. I was worried about it being too bland, but the taste of the sour cream really balanced it out. I used less than 1/2 cup butter. Will make this again, but I'll probably tweak it a little. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Cassandra Foxx July 14, 2009

Oh my gosh! I seriously had to tear myself away from the pan! This was so good!!! The only thing I did differently was to add a can of mushrooms to the sauce mixture. This is a new family favorite for sure! Oh.........and it's so easy too! woo hoo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mika G. June 28, 2009

This is fabulous! I took the other reviewer's advice and added 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese. I also only used 4 oz of sour cream because my 2 kiddos aren't fond of it. My husband calls this "Fried Chicken Casserole" and says its in his top 5 list--which is a huge compliment from him! Thanks for the new addition to our dinner menus!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autumn Butler June 27, 2009

What a hit! I did also add 2% shr cheddar, used light sour cream, and used multigrain club crackers instead. Served it over whole wheat penne tossed with a little EVOO and my kids, ages 3 and 5, went nuts for it and it was adult friendly too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2 girls' mommy June 11, 2009

This is an awesome dish! Thank you very much for posting this recipe for all to have. I used to have this about once a month when I was a teenager and always ate it all; complained that there was never enough. This dish is definitely in my bi-weekly rotation of food to have for dinner. Just thinking about it and writing this makes me want to cook it for dinner tonight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn in SA January 23, 2009

This was delicious! I added a cup of cheddar cheese but I'm sure it would be just as good without it. We ate it over egg noodles and it was great. I'll definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjulian September 16, 2008

I thought this was great! My husband and kids agreed. I added canned mushrooms on top of the chicken and made noodles to put the chicken mixture over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beccanespor August 29, 2008
Cheryl's Healthy & Light Sour Cream Chicken