Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cher's Char-Grilled Oven Brisket Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cher's Char-Grilled Oven Brisket

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2002

      Followed directions totally except I had to stop cooking it after 6 hours. Turned out fantastic. Took half of the brisket to BF's house for he and his dad. Had some with just the juice and some with a marionberry spicy bbq sauce, YUM girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      I've never had brisket, much less ever made it, but then Cher sends me the Stubbs's marinade in the food swap so I thought I would make it. Well, I'm so glad that I did, this was simply wonderful. Great flavor, and so tender you could cut it with a fork. I followed this recipe to the letter, and the result was great. We absolutley loved this brisket, BF said, "give this one 10 stars" ...that pretty much says it all. Another great one from Cher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      This is wonderful! We had our first snow of the season today and I had this on the menu, thought that it would be nice to have the oven going all day. I loved the flavor of the meat and the juices, I didn't add any BBQ. I have some left so guess what lunch is today? Well worth digging out that grill in the middle of a snow storm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      cher, this is wonderful! it has been marinating in my freezer for 2 weeks now and i am so glad i finally pulled it out for dinner tonight. i did sear it but then i stuck it in my crockpot on low for 8 hours without any extra liquid. it came out tender and juicy. it had tons of flavor and i loved it. thanks for the recipe. *the first day we ate this it was a bit hard to slice and stringy but man the next day it was fabulous. i sliced it while it was still cold and reheated it with some of the cooking juices and it was not at all stringy. melt in your mouth yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Very easy to make and the brisket comes out moist and tender. The flavor of the marinade really penetrates the meat. The only thing I didn't do was trim the fat from the brisket. I just couldn't bring myself to do it...I was taught to leave it on and cook with the fat side up so it melts through the meat. Otherwise I followed the recipe and we loved the results. Thanks Cher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I took a 10+ pound (frozen)brisket on a campout. I used a Jumbo size ziplock bag to marinade it and kept it in the ice chest until it was time to cook it. The campground was crowded and we attracted a lot of stares when I threw that huge piece of brisket on the charcoal grill to "burn it". As soon as it was the right color I carved off the right size piece to fit into my crockpot - I cooked it on "high" for about 6 hours. The remaining piece I wrapped in heavy duty foil 3 times and put on the grill and SIL wrapped the entire grill in foil. We left camp (with our fingers crossed) to go kayaking. We returned to find both briskets were wonderful! The crockpot brisket was really good and moist - the brisket from the foil packet was kind of too crispy on the bottom...however, the top portion was SO GOOD! The whole campground smelled like brisket. There was plenty to share. I served the brisket with beans , fire roasted potatoes and BBQ sauce. It really was a nice memory....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      cher, this is delicious...no more slaving over a pit all day! this has the results of an all-day effort with a lot less work. first time, made exactly according to recipe, very good. second time, added garlic, worchestire (sp.), and coarse ground pepper to marinade. added a little zip! watch the brisket when you are browning (searing) over the hot grill. i use a charcoal grill, and it flamed up so much that the brisket got really, really burned and even after cooking in oven, was barely edible. luckily, the other brisket i was cooking at same time did not get burned. so if you're using a charcoal fire, might want to keep a close eye on it! again, cher, thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Wonderful cooking method! My brisket was small so at the last minute I decided to try to cook some bone-in chicken breasts the same way. The chicken hadn't marinated overnight, but I put it in a ziploc bag with garlic, lime juice & lime/pepper seasoning. I seared both brisket and chicken on the grill. then popped them into two different heavy-duty foil cooking bags, sealed them up and cooked for 7+ hours. I did add the chicken 'marinade' in with the chicken cuz i was afraid they would dry out. I just read below I should have been cooking at 250, but my oven was set on 200 and both meats came out perfectly cooked, moist & delicious! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      I was a brisket 'newbie' but I feel like a pro now! This recipe is GREAT!!! So easy to do, and such good results. I left some of the fat on it and "OMG" was it good! THANK YOU SO MUCH<

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      This was my first attempt at a brisket and I was so pleased with the results. I followed your recipe exactly, though I cut it in half as my roast was only about 3 3/4 lbs. I marinaded it for one day and cooked it the next. After it cooled I sliced it about 1/4 inch thick with my meat slicer. I placed all the sliced meat along with the juices in the refrigerator until the next day. It was like marinading twice! The searing on the grill is what makes this recipe. Don't skip this step! I can't wait to make this again. I want to try adding a dash of liquid smoke to the marinade and onion to the roasting process. I can't thank you enough Cher for a fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      This was fantastic. I made it exactly as written except I couldn't trim the fat off either. I grilled it fat side down and let it flame out. I double wrapped it in heavy duty foil and was surprised on how much juice it had when it was all done. Mouth watering is an understatement. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      This was very good!! It is incredibly easy to make and goes together very quickly (what more could you want)? I halved the marinade amounts because I used a 3 1/2 lb. brisket. After searing it on the grill, I baked it for 5 hours. It was literally falling apart. My family loved this and gave it two big thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      This is the one to use when it is very important to impress someone! This is the BOMB. Absolutely the best. Thank you so much for sharing and the double foil really did the trick. WOW!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      I made this last night for my DH and oldest son and it was WONDERFUL!!!Grilled it for about 8-10 minutes per side on our gas grill and then cooked it for the seven hours. It was moist and just fell apart- very yummy! I served it with Stubbs barbeque sauce-also very good!- potato salad, my black bean and corn salad, and garlic bread. It was so good I'm going to fix it next weekend for Father's Day. Thanks, Cher, for a definite keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This one was good and easy to make. I used a 5 lbs brisket and followed your directions. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Outstanding! I've had this in my cookbook for ages, but was always afraid to purchase a brisket. I thought I'd waste a big chunk of money and time and my dinner would be tough and flavorless!Boy I couldn't have been more wrong! Excellent flavor, very tender, the kitchen smelled wonderful all day long! Kids and husband drooled all day! Thanks so much for an excellent recipe and for helping make me a confident brisket chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      Excellent. I've made this twice now, and it is delishious. You can't go wrong with this simple dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      I'm making this for the 2nd time and just realized I didn't post a review. This is absolutely AWESOME! I will never try another brisket recipe. We are actually having it for Christmas Dinner! Thanks so much for another great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      I'm not sure how helpful this review will be since I didn't use a brisket and I didn't have time to sear it or roast it lol I wanted to serve it for NYE dinner and had marinated it the night before as directed. Since I had to work, there was no way for me to sear it and leave the oven on, so I drained the marinade and left it in my crockpot on low for almost 10 hours (it was a large roast, bottom roast i believe?) When I got home the wonderful aroma hit me as soon as I walked in the door. It was so tender that the roast fell apart as I pulled it out of the crockpot. I served it with some BBQ sauce on the side for those who wanted it (it didn't need it, I loved the spiciness of the Stubb's marinade too) and garlic mashed potatoes. I still want to try it the right way next time lol Thanks Cher!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      Cher, I have used this twice now. First, on a brisket that I really tried to screw up -- by starting it in the oven then moving it to the crockpot. It turned out fabulous and tender anyway. Then, I used the same recipe on a pot roast cut of meat -- but before I put it down on the foil, I cut a couple of sweet onions into wedges and rested the meat on that. That was rip-roaring good, too. We used the shredded leftovers with some Stubbs bbq sauce for sandwiches. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cher's Char-Grilled Oven Brisket

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1080.5
     
    Calories from Fat 812
    75%
    Total Fat 90.2 g
    138%
    Saturated Fat 36.3 g
    181%
    Cholesterol 248.3 mg
    82%
    Sodium 219.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 57.8 g
    115%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef marinade

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites