26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I made this tonight because I was craving something sweet. This could not have been easier! I used cherry pie filling because that's what I had on hand. Fresh cherries aside, everything I needed for this was already in my kitchen. I will save this recipe for when I have company.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunsh1ne August 28, 2010

I made this on 6/20/11 for the Baked Goods Event in the Food Photo Forum.I did something to this recipe I normally don't do,I made it as it was written.:)After it was baked, I let it cool for about 20 minutes or so.I found the crust to be more cake like than what I'm used to,but it had great flavor. The idea of using the blender to mix up the batter was a clever idea.:)I think for the amount of the batter 2 cups of cherries weren't enough,so if this made again another cup of cherries will be added.Thanks for taking the time to post and," Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � June 20, 2011

After reading the other reviews, I went into this wanting more of a cherry upside-down cake--and this recipe did not disappoint! I used about 3 cups of sour cherries and added 1/4 cup of sugar to them directly, cutting back the sugar in the batter to 1/2 cup. I also added 1/4 tsp almond extract. This is a keeper and a wonderful super easy dessert! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie June 16, 2014

tasty, but not what I was looking for. It was very cake like. I was looking for a buttery semi-flaky top like my grandma use to make, and instead ended up with cherry up-side down cake

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misslissa 121 July 24, 2010

Such a delicious cobbler. I halved the salt and used fresh cherries, and followed the recipe exactly. The sponge was light and had just the right sweetness for the cherries. This made for a really nice dessert for the family tonight, not too sweet and a fantastic warming dessert for a cold winter's night. Thanks Derf, the family loved this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme June 17, 2010

Good flavor, but the texture was a little strange. The batter turned into more of a cake, rather than a crust. Again, tastes good, but not what I think of when I think "cobbler". Will not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Piggy December 06, 2009

YUM!!! I added about a cup each of coconut and chopped nuts because I was trying to empty the freezer, and it was amazing. The coconut went really well. Am looking forward to making again with mixed berries. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Thompson October 29, 2009

Wonderful! I mixed some blueberries in with my fresh cherries and I all I had was a round pie pan instead of a square one, but it turned out perfect! Will definitely make this again. So easy and tasty! We had company over and it was a hit. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmelinda August 19, 2009

Really good! I think that next time I may double the batter for the top since it was so good. Fresh picked cherries...wow! I did use a 9 X 13 pan, so I am sure that is why it was a little thin. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre May 25, 2009

Very tasty. Family loved it. I, like some other reviewers, had to bake it for longer than the recipe calls for and it never quite set up in the middle but the edge pieces were fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karrie Massotti December 24, 2008
Cherry Time Cobbler