17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading a previous review I was tempted to go with 1/2 brown sugar but made as is and decided this is a keeper and I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* November 15, 2009

Really tasty! I used the original recipe (with evaporated milk and lemon juice) because that's what I had on hand. This was a unique dish- sort of a cake, sort of a pie. I served it for brunch, but I think it would also make a nice dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi from Boise March 23, 2008

This was so very very good. I subed out the flour with sweetened rice flour for my GF nephew and it tasted so good the non GF friends were eating it. I added a teaspoon cinnimon and 1/2 tea nutmeg to the dry mix just to add some more flavor. It worked! I also made this with flour and it rised higher than the GF one so it needed another can of cherry pie filling to keep moist and cherryfull.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yello Kim April 28, 2007

This was very tasty! I made it for church fellowship time and came home with just 2 pieces left (I cut it into 14 pieces not 8 so it would go further.) Everyone raved over it and I had a request for the recipe too. I used dark cherry pie filling (everyone thought it was blueberry it was so dark LOL), light sour cream, and skim milk. Thanks for the recipe Marg! You've helped to further my reputation as a great baker! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 January 28, 2007

What a great looking coffee cake...took this to work and got rave reviews

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc March 19, 2006

This was excellent!! I just had to make this when I saw the pic in the photo forum. Easy to make, tastes great and looks pretty stunning!! I did substitute the cherries for frozen blueberries, which I simmered in a sugar syrup. Next time I'll try it with the cherries.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff September 15, 2004

I wasn't sure how to rate this -- I served it to company and it was beautiful; looked like it came from a bakery and they loved it, but personally, I think it was missing a few things which I'll try adding when I make it again. I plan to use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown, put in 1 tsp. or so vanilla extract and about 1/2 tsp. of salt or so. I think that will make this cake out really great. I did love how easy the recipe was - reserving some of the 'batter' elminated the need to make a crumb topping. And I mixed the entire recipe in one bowl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy August 29, 2004

I severed this to company we had on there weekend and they rated it as 3.5.It looked beautiful but it just lacked flavor. sorry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. May 21, 2013

Sorry but this one does not hit the mark --it needs something (more sugar, brown sugar, more flavoring) I don't know but this was a waste of time and ingredients. And it does take some time. I did not change a thing and followed directions to the letter so what went wrong??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starcomet2 April 16, 2013

Amazing!! This cake is truly beautiful. I made one with Raspberry filling and one with Cherry filling. This is a must to bake! I followed the recipe and it really is delicious. I hope everyone tries this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 February 27, 2012
Cherry Streusel Coffee Cake