Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cherry Snowballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cherry Snowballs

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2007

      WOW! These are my new favorite cookie. They are soooo WONDERFUL! So melt in your mouth...just the right amount of sweetness and the surprise cherry flavor is perfect with the outer dough. Oh YUM! I really enjoyed making these also...the dough is so soft and it butters your hands. I used whole cherries and also flattened and wrapped the dough around each one and then rolled them in my hands. Mine may have been larger than normal...so only made 20. I cooked them about 22 minutes. Thank you so much for this keeper recipe. Made for the Alphabet Soup game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      A follow-up on my review dated 12/8. I felt bad slamming this recipe so I decided to tweak it. I added 1t of almond extract and 1T of the cherry juice to the dough mix. I used whole cherries and stuck a chocolate chip in the holes left by the pitting process. I plan to dip the cooled cookie in white or chocolate. To keep with the snowball name I'll use the powdered sugar to the variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I just didn't care for these cookies. After reading the reviews, I was expecting something like shortbread, but I didn't think these were sweet at all. I have noticed in cooking that when using powdered sugar it's hard to get things sweet enough. The buttery flaky part was good, I just think that the cookie should have had some flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Lovely little cookies, can't wait to make them again! Came out looking just like the picture, too. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      My small tweak to recipe: I drained my cherries then chopped them quickly in food processor. Even tho it made a bit of juice I put it all in my dough and mixed well......... Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      These were so wonderful! Tweaked it a little by adding 1 tsp of almond extract, and added red coarse sugar to the powdered sugar. Took them to work on my annual cookie tray and they were gone in an hour! Thank you for the new Christmas classic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Delicious and easy cookie! It makes a great addition to a cookie tray. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the dough. I only used the half of the cherry in each cookie like the recipe says, and it is good that way. I baked mine for 22 minutes. I took someone else's suggestion and I mixed some sugar crystals (I used green) in with the additional powdered sugar you roll the snowballs in. These taste so Christmas-y to me-I love them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Easy, tasty little shortbread-like cookie with a cherry surprise! This is a great Christmas cookie recipe!! I like to make my cookies smallish for my trays so I only used 1/2 a cherry in each cookie & it was still a nice little burst of flavour in the centre of the cookie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Great recipe! I made the first bunch smaller, and the larger ones definately taste better-more shortbread flavour. I also stuffed a chocolate chip into the cherries in some of the cookies which also added a nice touch. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      One of the best cookies I've made this season! I wish I would have tried them before now, as I've been wanting to make them since last Christmas...then I would have known to at least double the recipe. These are SO incredible! I must have made mine a little large; I only got 25 cookies out of the recipe. I used a 10 oz. jar of cherries and used them whole (there are 30 in that size jar). I had no problem with the dough; in fact I found it extremely easy to work with. I rolled the dough into balls, pressed my thumb into them for the cherries and then rerolled into balls. After baking, I rolled mine in confectioners' sugar mixed with red sugar crystals, so I could distinguish them from my other snowball cookies. They look very pretty. Thanks so much for posting. I already added these to my 2009 Christmas Cookie cookbook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Delicious, a winner on the Xmas cookie tray so far. I tripled the recipe and had 22 oz jar of cherries (red and green) and there was just a few cherries leftover. Although I didn't find the mixuture crumbly as another reviewer did, coat your hands with powdered sugar will rolling these. My 3 y/o goddaughter helped us make these and enjoyed adding the cherry to each dough prior to rolling...so it's a great recipe to let the little ones help you make (plus there will probably be extra cherries leftover for them to eat after the cookies are rolled)! Thanks for posting; I will definitely be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Excellent and easy. I too used a whole cherry, and my dough was really crumbly at first, so I had to warm each piece up between my hands before it would go around the cherry successfully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Every year for the last 3 years, I scour 'zaar for the perfect cookie recipe for the Cookie Swap I host in December. I am pleased to say, this recipe will be featured at the swap this year! Very simple to make and delicious! The only change I made was, I added 1 tsp. of pure (not imitation) almond extract to the dough to give it a little more 'oomph' of cherry flavor. Today was my 'trial run' of the cookies I plan on making for our swap next weekend (to work out any imperfections). My only other change for next week will be to not halve the cherries and leave them whole. Thanks so much for posting an incredibly easy and fabulous recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      thank you so much!!! i am rating from italy, and i found this recipe very easy and yummy, balls tourned out perfect, we don't have maraschino cherries, so i had to marinate them for some hours,..... thank you!! i will bake for christmas Eve again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      I would give these more than 5 stars if I could. I was so tempted to hide the whole batch from everyone....lol. I did not half the cherries. I put about a Tablespoon of dough between my palms flattened it put the cherry in the middle, wrapped the dough around it, then rolled it into a ball. It was a very simple process. Thanks for sharing a YUMMY simple recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      I made these for xmas and they are a winner here! Just wonderful. I made 2 batches, one with whole cherries and one with chocolate caramels(rolo) Outstanding and I'll be adding these to future xmas trays. Thanks for the great recipe! And they freeze great too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      These were very different, yet good cookies. I've never had anything like them before. They were very easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      These are lovely shortbread treats, with the added bonus of the cherry inside. Yummm cant get any better than that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      I gave this 5 stars. Yummy! I made these for my christmas cookie trays and they are yummy! I chilled my dough but had to warm it up to work with it. I will try the whole cherry next time I make these. Thanks for a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      These are just the nicest little things! The dough was very easy to handle and made delicious shortbread cookies. One thing I like about the cherry in the center is that it stays moist instead of drying out the way it does when it's on top of the cookie. Excellent recipe, thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cherry Snowballs

    Serving Size: 1 (707 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.7
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    55%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 16.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 54.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites