25 Reviews

WOW! These are my new favorite cookie. They are soooo WONDERFUL! So melt in your mouth...just the right amount of sweetness and the surprise cherry flavor is perfect with the outer dough. Oh YUM! I really enjoyed making these also...the dough is so soft and it butters your hands. I used whole cherries and also flattened and wrapped the dough around each one and then rolled them in my hands. Mine may have been larger than normal...so only made 20. I cooked them about 22 minutes. Thank you so much for this keeper recipe. Made for the Alphabet Soup game.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed January 02, 2007

A follow-up on my review dated 12/8. I felt bad slamming this recipe so I decided to tweak it. I added 1t of almond extract and 1T of the cherry juice to the dough mix. I used whole cherries and stuck a chocolate chip in the holes left by the pitting process. I plan to dip the cooled cookie in white or chocolate. To keep with the snowball name I'll use the powdered sugar to the variety.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaemurphy December 09, 2012

These were so wonderful! Tweaked it a little by adding 1 tsp of almond extract, and added red coarse sugar to the powdered sugar. Took them to work on my annual cookie tray and they were gone in an hour! Thank you for the new Christmas classic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dee b. January 04, 2011

I just didn't care for these cookies. After reading the reviews, I was expecting something like shortbread, but I didn't think these were sweet at all. I have noticed in cooking that when using powdered sugar it's hard to get things sweet enough. The buttery flaky part was good, I just think that the cookie should have had some flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linzi Jordan January 10, 2009

Every year for the last 3 years, I scour 'zaar for the perfect cookie recipe for the Cookie Swap I host in December. I am pleased to say, this recipe will be featured at the swap this year! Very simple to make and delicious! The only change I made was, I added 1 tsp. of pure (not imitation) almond extract to the dough to give it a little more 'oomph' of cherry flavor. Today was my 'trial run' of the cookies I plan on making for our swap next weekend (to work out any imperfections). My only other change for next week will be to not halve the cherries and leave them whole. Thanks so much for posting an incredibly easy and fabulous recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve December 09, 2007

Lovely little cookies, can't wait to make them again! Came out looking just like the picture, too. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silver-rose December 29, 2012

My small tweak to recipe: I drained my cherries then chopped them quickly in food processor. Even tho it made a bit of juice I put it all in my dough and mixed well......... Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SamiShads December 04, 2012

Delicious and easy cookie! It makes a great addition to a cookie tray. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the dough. I only used the half of the cherry in each cookie like the recipe says, and it is good that way. I baked mine for 22 minutes. I took someone else's suggestion and I mixed some sugar crystals (I used green) in with the additional powdered sugar you roll the snowballs in. These taste so Christmas-y to me-I love them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 December 16, 2009

Easy, tasty little shortbread-like cookie with a cherry surprise! This is a great Christmas cookie recipe!! I like to make my cookies smallish for my trays so I only used 1/2 a cherry in each cookie & it was still a nice little burst of flavour in the centre of the cookie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb January 04, 2009

Great recipe! I made the first bunch smaller, and the larger ones definately taste better-more shortbread flavour. I also stuffed a chocolate chip into the cherries in some of the cookies which also added a nice touch. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_princess_suzy December 22, 2008
Cherry Snowballs