13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious on cheesecake with friends last night! Added some extra cornstarch to thicken it more. It was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siren Chef April 03, 2010

It had an overall good taste but I can't give it 5 stars because no matter how long I let it cook it got bubbly but never thick at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY October 28, 2009

Used Splenda, thickened with Guar Gum, and added a tsp of Almond Extract. Was the hit of the pork roast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
24australia September 23, 2009

I love easy AND delicious recipes and this one falls into that catogory. It was excellent on ice cream and cheescake, just okay on the pound cake. I've already added it to the family cookbook, thanks Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Happy Housewife August 23, 2009

it took me 45 minutes to pit 4 cups of cherries :-) good sauce though. I added rum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stanch July 24, 2009

Wonderful, simple sauce! We cut the recipe in half and used frozen cherries to make a sauce for some dessert crepes. Really yummy. Definitely a recipe we will revisit sometime in the very near future. Thank you Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girle March 13, 2009

Very simple and great sauce! I baked some tofu in the oven (extra firm, cut into 1/2-inch cubes, baked on a slightly greased cookie sheet with rims at 375 degrees F for 30 minutes, flipping the cubes once halfway through cooking time) and served in with the sauce and cherries poured all over. Perfection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick February 16, 2009

This is truly delicious! I halved the recipe (I only had 2 cups of cherries left) and we enjoyed it on vanilla ice cream. Perfect, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahactually July 18, 2007

Original review, March 3, 2006: Excellent! Very easy to make and so much better than canned cherry syrup. I used frozen dark sweet cherries and it turned out beautifully. Thanks Karen! Updated: I have made this several times now. We usually use it over ice cream but I've also served it over Cheesecake Cookies, which is also excellent. BTW, The first time I made it I asked DH if he wanted any on his ice cream. He was thinking I had made some kind of cherry flavored syrup and asked to see it. When I show it to him he replied, "Oh I see it!! Pour it upon it!!" So in our family this sauce is always referred to as "Pour it upon it!" :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) February 10, 2007

I have to admit, I ate most of this from the bowl with a spoon. I used dark sweet cherries and Splenda and served it warm over chocolate angelfood cake. This recipe chenged my mom's mind about fruit sauces (she had a bad experience with strawberry shortcake as a chld and almost wouldn't try this). To top it all off, it loked beautiful too, a decadent dark purple. Thanks Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vye367 January 12, 2007
Cherry Sauce