10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Incredibly easy & delicious! As recommended by other reviewers, I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract & used cherry juice in place of the water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb February 11, 2012

This is a very nice sub for the expensive cherry pie filling at the grocery store. I used two cans of pitted cherries and instead of the water used the juice from the cherries. Liked the idea Chef #1336878 had and also added some almond extract. Easy to make and saved money, will definitely make again! Made and reviewed for the Aussie Recipe Swap #33.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 31, 2009

This was good and so easy! The only addition I made was 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyld1963 July 27, 2009

This was really good! Went to buy cherries for my son's Birthday Cheesecake and when I saw the price - I decided we should use the cherries from our tree. Boy it was easy and tastes so great! I also used frozen cherries..... plus it has more cherries than sauce....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof8Blessings March 11, 2009

This was a very good cherry pie filling. I would definitely use it again, but felt there was something missing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 June 08, 2008

Terrific! I'll never buy canned pie filling again. I have to say, though, for other beginning cooks ... now I know why you said to mix the sugar and cornstarch together BEFORE adding to the cherries. Don't add them separately! It made a terrible mess of lumpy cornstarch, and it was impossible to get the lumps out ... when I actually followed the recipe, though, it turned out beautifully. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts September 09, 2007

So easy to make and I tried it with strawberries as well and it came out better than the cherry one.I do use a little bit less sugar as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarkSmart924 May 31, 2007

I used this to fill Tiny Tarts With Pecan or Pumpkin Filling. I used frozen cherries that we had picked last year. I used instant tapioca instead of the cornstarch b/c I like the flavor better. Cooked up quick and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Z* November 19, 2006

Loved it. Did it just like the recipe said. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane Gib August 22, 2006

Easy, quick, and for a country that doesn't have pie filling in cans, a lifesaver. Not exactly the consistency I expected. I'll use less cornstarch next time, or more juice or water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 18, 2006
Cherry Pie Filling