82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made the cherry pie for our Fall Fair.The pie top had to be lattice handmade.I won first prize.It,s very good.A keeper.Nora Marie

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 13765 October 05, 2002

This was great! I can't beleive I liked it. I really don't like most cherry pies. I followed the recipe to a T. Great idea on the zip-loc bag! I used sour cherries that I picked yesterday. Also, I was a bit worried that flour wasn't going to work as the thickener. It did! I think the reason that some peoples pie came out watery, is because you MUST let it cool for at least 6 hours. Next time I might add a few drops of almond extract. :) Thanks Marg!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie_Cook July 14, 2011

This was a huge hit with the extended family! I used a shortcrust mix for the pie crust (which was not sweetened), so personally I thought the pie could have done with a bit more sugar, but I was alone in that opinion. Every one else thought it was "perfect" with cream and/or ice cream. Because reviewers had mentioned the filling being too wet, I let the ingredients rest in the zip-loc bag in the refrigerator, allowing the moisture to weep out a bit. I used a slotted spoon to lift out relatively "dry" cherries and left most of the moisture in the bag for the kids to enjoy by spoon! So with regards to moisture, it was perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoubletheGarlic July 25, 2011

OMG!! I have never made a cherry pie before, but I will be making it again, and I will never use a different recipe/method for it. I have found a keeper here!! Thank you for this recipe (and the bag trick--what a wonderful idea, I'm thinking it would work with apples, too!). I used a beer bottle and a pencil without an eraser to pit my cherries, and that worked really well, but with as good as this pie was, I might need to invest in a cherry pitter. Thanks Marg!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two July 28, 2010

My husband, the pie expert, claims this was the best cherry pie he ever ate. Nuff said.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RuthlessWr July 06, 2010

Before making this cherry pie, I had neither made nor eaten cherry pie before. A travesty, I now realize. Make this with seasonal cherries, and if they're sweet, cut the amount of sugar you use in the recipe. And VERY IMPORTANT, the tip about using a ziplock bag (at the end of the recipe) is key to making this an easy recipe, from both an assembly and clean-up perspective. I used Pillsbury pie shells, and it turned out wonderfully.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saucy48 June 28, 2010

sorry - somehow i missed reviewing this awesome recipe. i must have made this 10 or 12 times now, and it always comes out perfect. My neighbor has a cherry tree (and they are just normal sweet red cherries, not tart ones) and so I can pick the cherries in the morning, and have the pie ready for dinnertime! Anyway, the only thing I ever do differently (sometimes) is add a couple of drops of almond essence or 2 Tbl of ground almonds to the Ziploc bag when coating the cherries. Either way, this is a great, easy and foolproof recipe, thanks a million.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 May 23, 2009

Cherry pie is one of my favorites and this one is wonderful. The amount of sugar (I used 1 1/4 cups cause my cherries were tart) and a little more flour (because I used slightly more than 4 cups of cherries). The filling was perfect - not runny at all and just overall delicious. It couldn't be simpler, either. I will use it again! Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 09, 2010

Delicious! Best cherry pie I ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathrynkipfmiller July 25, 2009

Not a bad pie but not the best I ever had. I made it with a crumb topping and added 2 tsp corn starch to help thicken. Maybe it was my cherries but i felt it needed more sweetness-- next time I'd add some corn syrup or just more plain sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.Noit Awl July 13, 2009
Cherry Pie