12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this pie! Here's a tip passed on to me by my MIL - add 2-3 T. melted butter (& a pinch of salt if using unsalted butter) to the pie filling. You'll lose a tiny bit of the shiny gloss, but the flavor is enhanced and sweetness is cut just a tad. Yum!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libertycooker November 18, 2011

I've been making this pie for over 40 years! The filling is out of this world -- so rich and creamy! As another reviewer mentioned, you can use any pie topping on it -- so don't limit yourself to just cherries. I've also made this and served it as a parfait instead of a pie. In place of the crust I use granola or nuts -- and alternate the layers in a nice parfait glass. There is another recipe posted on Zaar that I just made which has the identical filling -- but a crust made out of Cocoa Krispies. You might check it out -- #216470.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie October 14, 2007

I have eaten this pie for over 45 years and it is awesome and recipe a breeze. However I would not add the lemon juice until right before you mix it with the electric mixer. I was interrupted and let mixture sit for about 5 minutes before mixing and it had lumps. Looking forward to trying my creation tonight when its dessert time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlh1255 July 16, 2013

This is great. I remember this from holiday dinners. I used homemade sweetened condensed milk (Sweetened Condensed Milk), and lowfat cream cheese. I believe the low fat cream cheese caused it to be more of a pudding consistency, but it still tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serenus July 05, 2010

Love this stuff! I used almond extract because it sounded yummy after DiscoBunny mentioned it....it was better I think! This is a keeper....like a Jell-O No-Bake but BETTER!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kelly Bug May 11, 2009

This is an oldie, but a goodie! I like to use almond extract in place of the vanilla...complements the cherries perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DiscoBunny February 11, 2009

I made this with a lower fat graham cracker crust, light cream cheese, fat free condensed milk and sugar free pie filling. Yummy, yummy. No one knew it was a lighter dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacee23 November 30, 2008

We love this pie! My Dad and I would ask for this instead of a Birthday cake. The only difference is Mom put it a regular pie crust. I've made it without adding the pie filling on top, and then for each individual serving add what flavor is desired, such as blueberry. My DH loves the blueberry version. I'll put this in my cookbook! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatMcC September 15, 2008

This is my Grandma Gern's Recipe! Love it. You can not get an easier version with the end result! To die for. As a kid I always tried the cherries but now I just leave naked and have the cherries on the side or other fruit topping. Its funny to see so many others enjoying this recipe. Thank you for posting AB This is a great one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Show-Me-Girl September 15, 2008

I liked that this dessert was quick and simple to make. I used a chocolate crust on mine and liked the taste of it. Next time I will make this with strawberry topping as my DH prefers strawberries to cherries. This is something that I will make again, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 July 07, 2007
Cherry-O-Creme Pie