Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cherry Mash Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cherry Mash Bars

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2010

      I couldn't find cherry chips either so I used white chocolate and chopped up maraschino cherries and mixed them in. I let mine drain on a paper towel so they were dry. I put half of the chocolate layer down first then the cherry layer and microwaved the rest of the chocolate for a few seconds and spread it on the cherry layer. They came right out of the pan and I could put them on a platter. I love these! I hope you can get them to work for you this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Three tries later after lots of patience and failure I finally got these to work and they turned out pretty well. The first try it was a big cherry mess of goo and the second it got overdone. The third time a success.

      Next.

      I just have to respond to Feneant's "review." It was hardly a fair assessment of this recipe simply because you could not find the cherry chips, simply because you cannot find the ingredients or come up with an alternative doesn't make this a bad recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      The solution to the lack of availability of cherry chips is simple: mix 1 (10 oz) package of white chocolate chips with 1 oz of cherry extract. The cherry extract was right in Walmart. This made perfect Cherry Mash bars. I made these last year for Christmas and will be making them every year from now on. I made one batch with peanuts and one without (there are some picky people who don't like nuts in their confections), and found that the batch with the peanuts were both better tasting and a better consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I could not find cherry chips so decided to try peppermint chips instead....they were a HIT!!! Yes, the bottoms stick to wax paper but peeled off easily...can get creative w/ what u want to put on bottom...does not have to be just cherry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I cut the amount of sugar down to 1/2 cup. I also made chocolate layer with no nuts for the bottom layer. Then put the cherry layer on. Then topped it with the chocolate peanut layer. Delish! 5 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I've made these twice this year, and they are really good. Only part of the first batch made it out the door; DH got the rest. I'm guarding the second batch. These are quick, easy, and fun to make. I had some trouble finding the cherry chips, but I, too, eventually found them at Super Target. I made the recipe exactly as written.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      saw the picture and had to try these. Sent DH to store to get the cherry chips and when he got home with them was surprised to see the same recipe on the bag! Anyhoo, I had to adjust them a little as my sons are allergic to peanuts. I used soy butter instead which tastes identical to peanut butter in recipes but a little off in a sandwich... and instead of peanuts in the chocolate layer I used rice crispies. It was still amazing, and so pretty too. I will make them again and again! Thanks for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I haven't made these yet, but I will be doing so today. Just an FYI; I found the cherry chips at Walmart, if you don't see them anywhere, ask someone. Not sure if these are available during the holidays or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I have made a similar recipe for over 25 years I use evaporated milk and have cherry chips sent from the midwest (I moved 2 years ago to a state that doesn't know what they are!) My family is not fond of nuts but I do use crunchy peanut butter and add 3/4 c of rice krispi cereal to the chocolate layer for a little crunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      The kids loved these! Have had my eye on the recipe for some time, finally broke down and ordered Log House cherry morsels from Amazon. Candy is similar to fudge and should be served in small squares. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Yum Yum...my dad's all time fav is the cherry mash...the chocolate layer took long time to set so you have to be patient with this recipe. No hurrying...but worth the wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      This recipe says to boil on high heat for 5 minutes. It should say boil GENTLY for 5 minutes. The first time I did this, my cherry layer was as hard as a rock. I would recommend just barely bringing this to a boil and then keeping it there for 5 minutes. With that modification, I'd give this 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      Oh, childhood memories...there was a candy, a rounded mound of cherry fondant, covered with chocolate with finely diced peanuts that I loved so when I was a child. I would go to the movies on Saturday afternoon and always had to have my CHERRY MASH!!!! I occasionally find them in unexpected gas stations/comvenience stores. I HAVE TO make these and will try to mound them like the ones I loved so. THANK YOU so much for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      Have not tried recipe as of yet but will soon and will update BUT you CAN find CHERRY CHIPS at Amish General Stores.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      This recipe is excellent! The first time I made them the cherry part came out much, much too hard - I believe it was from cooking the sugar mixture at too high a temperature. The second time I boiled the sugar mixture at medium-high, then stirred in the marshmallows and chips until just mixed. The cherry part was perfect that time! I used parchment paper, and it peeled right off afterward. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      I followed gr82cook4fun lead and put half the chocolate mixture in the bottom to chill then cooked the cherry mixture and then topped with other half of chocolate mixture. I didn't have cherry chips but used white chocolate chips, cherry extract, maraschino cherries and juice. I lost track as I was adding by 1/2 t. of extract and juice but think I ended up using 3 t. of each plus a little red color. It is going to be hard to stay out of these as they are so good. I did line the 9 X 9 pan with parchment paper so it was easy to pull out to cut after it had chilled for a few hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I've made something like this only we called them "cherry mountain bars". I formed the inside cherry mixture into balls and froze, then dipped in chocolate. This recipe is much easier! I used the cherry mixture recipe here, substituting white "vanilla" chips and used a package of cherry Kool-Aid that is called for in my other recipe. I also made my recipe for the chocolate layer (1/2 package chocolate dip, 1/2 package chocolate chips and chopped peanuts). I spread a thin layer on my parchment lined pan first, then layered the cherry mixture, then the rest of the chocolate. They were superb! Set up beautifully after being in the refer for about an hour. Then I cut into small squares and threw them in the freezer for Christmas treats and visitors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I was very disappointed. It set up so hard that it did not cut well. The texture was not pleasant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Don't waste your time on this recipe, I don't know why it was 'featured' on the website (that is how I came across it). There may be a few stores in the US that carry these 'cherry chips' but you can't find them in Canada or in Maine. Being 'creative' has just left me with a bottom looking like marshmallow fluff.

      I don't care how good it tastes when I have to throw it out because I can't cut it to serve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      I'm so glad I read the reviews, 'cause I've wanted to make this for years, but could not find the cherry chips, and thought of doing the white chips and cherry oil thing, as "bobalouie" did. Also, reading of all the problems everyone seems to be having with the sticking, I'll use parchment paper, and do like "vikingjuice," put a choc. layer on the bottom, then the cherry mixture, then top it with the choc/nut mixture. I've had these b/4 but never made them. thanx everyone for the comments, they were all so helpful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cherry Mash Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.3
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    56%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 2.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 82.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cherry chips

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes