55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I couldn't find cherry chips either so I used white chocolate and chopped up maraschino cherries and mixed them in. I let mine drain on a paper towel so they were dry. I put half of the chocolate layer down first then the cherry layer and microwaved the rest of the chocolate for a few seconds and spread it on the cherry layer. They came right out of the pan and I could put them on a platter. I love these! I hope you can get them to work for you this way.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gr82cook4fun December 23, 2010

Three tries later after lots of patience and failure I finally got these to work and they turned out pretty well. The first try it was a big cherry mess of goo and the second it got overdone. The third time a success.

Next.

I just have to respond to Feneant's "review." It was hardly a fair assessment of this recipe simply because you could not find the cherry chips, simply because you cannot find the ingredients or come up with an alternative doesn't make this a bad recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fabspire November 24, 2010

The solution to the lack of availability of cherry chips is simple: mix 1 (10 oz) package of white chocolate chips with 1 oz of cherry extract. The cherry extract was right in Walmart. This made perfect Cherry Mash bars. I made these last year for Christmas and will be making them every year from now on. I made one batch with peanuts and one without (there are some picky people who don't like nuts in their confections), and found that the batch with the peanuts were both better tasting and a better consistency.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrunkFrack December 16, 2010

I could not find cherry chips so decided to try peppermint chips instead....they were a HIT!!! Yes, the bottoms stick to wax paper but peeled off easily...can get creative w/ what u want to put on bottom...does not have to be just cherry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brgomez November 29, 2010

I cut the amount of sugar down to 1/2 cup. I also made chocolate layer with no nuts for the bottom layer. Then put the cherry layer on. Then topped it with the chocolate peanut layer. Delish! 5 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VikingJuice December 21, 2009

I've made these twice this year, and they are really good. Only part of the first batch made it out the door; DH got the rest. I'm guarding the second batch. These are quick, easy, and fun to make. I had some trouble finding the cherry chips, but I, too, eventually found them at Super Target. I made the recipe exactly as written.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Witherspoon December 13, 2009

saw the picture and had to try these. Sent DH to store to get the cherry chips and when he got home with them was surprised to see the same recipe on the bag! Anyhoo, I had to adjust them a little as my sons are allergic to peanuts. I used soy butter instead which tastes identical to peanut butter in recipes but a little off in a sandwich... and instead of peanuts in the chocolate layer I used rice crispies. It was still amazing, and so pretty too. I will make them again and again! Thanks for this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
specialbekah December 11, 2009

I haven't made these yet, but I will be doing so today. Just an FYI; I found the cherry chips at Walmart, if you don't see them anywhere, ask someone. Not sure if these are available during the holidays or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti R. December 14, 2013

I have made a similar recipe for over 25 years I use evaporated milk and have cherry chips sent from the midwest (I moved 2 years ago to a state that doesn't know what they are!) My family is not fond of nuts but I do use crunchy peanut butter and add 3/4 c of rice krispi cereal to the chocolate layer for a little crunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allesandra22 December 02, 2013
Cherry Mash Bars