11 Reviews

Really good

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada December 30, 2012

I'm another one who's not terribly fond of these kind of cherries, but in this recipe they do just fine, & your tasty loaf certainly deserves 5 stars! Not only that, but I'll keep ir around for another performance! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 17, 2011

I made this for my girls as they love maraschino cherries, I myself never cared much for them but we all LOVED this recipe...made exactly as written and it turned out perfect!! Thank You for a great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofsixgirls March 03, 2009

This is a very tasty quick bread. The cherry flavor is wonderful. It does make a very small loaf but the taste makes up for it. The batter is very thick so mine didn't pour either. Mine was baked perfectly in 35 minutes. It's very moist. Thanks for sharing. Made for Gimme 5 tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 31, 2009

This was absolutely delightful! I really enjoyed this quick bread. I read through the reviews before I made this, and I'm glad I did else I may have been worried at the THICK batter. Though the loaf WAS small (didn't rise very much) it was so good - moist and delectable. I checked the loaf at 35 minutes and it was done. I just ate a slice of this warm with Cool Whip and it was heavenly. THANKS for this great recipe! Made for PRMR Tag Game, 1/24/09 - NELady.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady January 24, 2009

A lovely, delicate little loaf! I had TJ organic maraschino cherries--not quite as red, but containing no chemicals. I was eager to try them. And it turns out, the organic maraschinos are delicious and this little loaf is perfect--moist, a nice fine crumb, a crunchy top. Thank you, Boomette!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate January 22, 2009

Thanks so much for posting this recipe, Boomette! It is absolutely delicious and lower in fat than most quick breads (the latter is the reason I picked it)! I baked in an 8 x 4 loaf pan and the bread didn't rise much; this does produce a smallish loaf (and batter is VERY thick...it wouldn't "pour"). Mine actually tested done in 35 minutes, but I was worried it wasn't done because the top looked a little gummy. I put it back in the over for 5 minutes, for a total bake time of 40 minutes. I think next time I'll try it at the 35 minute mark, because I think it would have been a little more moist, and with the small amount of fat in this recipe, it's easy for it to dry out quick. No matter...it's yummy, especially with a bit of Cool Whip Lite on top. Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= January 18, 2009

I made this for Christmas in star shapes. The amount was perfect as there will be 4 at the table and there was just enough dough to make the amount I wanted. The stars are going into the freezer for a couple of days so I haven't tasted the finished item but I can tell you that if licking the mixing spoon is anything to go by they are terrific and should be 8 stars! Also, the previous reviewer, Baby Kato, knows her baking and I'll trust her review any time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 23, 2008

I like this recipe called cherry loaf bread it's tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salmam August 14, 2015

I made this and my kids loved the cherries. It was great for DD and her friends. **Made for Bevy Tag 2009**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva March 10, 2009
Cherry Loaf