61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These had exactly the flavor I remember from MY grandmother's recipe. Not too sweet (so just perfect for my taste!). Thanks, DI!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee April 22, 2002

These were great!! Not too sweet, but full of cherry flavor. In our house, we're divided on sweetness, so I mixed a little of the cherry juice with confectioners sugar and made a glaze. I drizzled it over half of them and left the remainder just the way they were. I'll definitely make them again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mishkapett December 06, 2002

These were great cookies, and very festive looking on my Christmas goody trays! The others were right-- not too sweet. I like sweet, so I also made a glaze with the cherry juice and powdered sugar, and sprinkled them with red crystal sugar while the glaze was still wet. Very easy and quick to prepare, as well! Thanks Di!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao December 27, 2002

If I could give more stars I definitely would!!! Texture, taste, and appearance .. awesome cant say enough! I am one of the guilty ones who like to read all reviews before making a recipe and follow some of the popular changes reviewers had made. This time I shouldn't have! I first cut my flour down to 2 c. as other reviewers suggested. Thankfully, I cooked one single cookie to test. It was FLAT! So I went ahead and added the other 1/2 c. to the batter and the rest turned out great. So well that my fiance ate ALL but 2 of them last night and is making me stir up another batch as soon as I'm done with this review. Let me say.. When he found out what I was making last night he was very disappointed and said he would not eat any of them. (He absolutely hates pieces of fruit or nuts in any dessert!!!) With that in mind, I only made one batch. The first set came out of the oven and he went crazy! Said he was sorry and that if I wanted any for myself I better mix up more! Ha! I did try the glaze on half of the cookies. Both w/and w/o were excellent. Your preference!! I was going to try adding cherry juice, as suggested by some. However, when chopping my cherries they produced enough juice through the chopped ones that was perfect for a pink color and cherry taste! I just did not drain the cherries that I chopped and did not add additional juice. I don't write many reviews, but felt I had to thank Dib's for this one!! Must try and I promise you will enjoy guys and gals!! I'm off to make more! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CowgirlAtHeartOH February 24, 2011

These had the exact flavor I was looking for! I am not a baker by any means & even I was successful with them. I ran out of vanilla so I used almond extract and loved the flavor! The only problem is we just ate half of them and now I have to make more! Thanks for submitting the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debora D. December 19, 2008

I live in Traverse City Michigan, and we are the Cherry capital so, I made this recipe w/ fresh picked cherries and it was soooo yummmmmy, and im sure my dh thanks you as well

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinkerbellx April 09, 2008

These were as I remembered. They just melt in your mouth. Everyone loved them. They have so much flavor Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Nonnie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nonnie Meelia December 16, 2003

Very good and just darling looking. The brights bursts of color from the juicy cherry pieces are really lovely and pack a lot of flavor. Beautiful for a baby shower or a holiday cookie tray. I found these a little too floury tasting, however and would try reducing the flour a bit next time. I like the idea one reviewer had of drizzling some icing over the top - I may try that enxt time too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather December 06, 2003

Have always been a firm believer of less is best - this recipe is so basic and yet so good. They were not sugar sweet but had heaps of flavour and sweetness from the cherries. Absolutely delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie May 22, 2003

Made these the other day and they were a bit different than the traditional cookie. I agree they are very festive looking I will probably make them again around the holidays and will try the glaze that leeannr mentioned.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet W January 27, 2003
Cherry Cookies