Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cherry Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cherry Cookies

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2002

      These had exactly the flavor I remember from MY grandmother's recipe. Not too sweet (so just perfect for my taste!). Thanks, DI!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      These were great!! Not too sweet, but full of cherry flavor. In our house, we're divided on sweetness, so I mixed a little of the cherry juice with confectioners sugar and made a glaze. I drizzled it over half of them and left the remainder just the way they were. I'll definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      These were great cookies, and very festive looking on my Christmas goody trays! The others were right-- not too sweet. I like sweet, so I also made a glaze with the cherry juice and powdered sugar, and sprinkled them with red crystal sugar while the glaze was still wet. Very easy and quick to prepare, as well! Thanks Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      If I could give more stars I definitely would!!! Texture, taste, and appearance .. awesome cant say enough! I am one of the guilty ones who like to read all reviews before making a recipe and follow some of the popular changes reviewers had made. This time I shouldn't have! I first cut my flour down to 2 c. as other reviewers suggested. Thankfully, I cooked one single cookie to test. It was FLAT! So I went ahead and added the other 1/2 c. to the batter and the rest turned out great. So well that my fiance ate ALL but 2 of them last night and is making me stir up another batch as soon as I'm done with this review. Let me say.. When he found out what I was making last night he was very disappointed and said he would not eat any of them. (He absolutely hates pieces of fruit or nuts in any dessert!!!) With that in mind, I only made one batch. The first set came out of the oven and he went crazy! Said he was sorry and that if I wanted any for myself I better mix up more! Ha! I did try the glaze on half of the cookies. Both w/and w/o were excellent. Your preference!! I was going to try adding cherry juice, as suggested by some. However, when chopping my cherries they produced enough juice through the chopped ones that was perfect for a pink color and cherry taste! I just did not drain the cherries that I chopped and did not add additional juice. I don't write many reviews, but felt I had to thank Dib's for this one!! Must try and I promise you will enjoy guys and gals!! I'm off to make more! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      These had the exact flavor I was looking for! I am not a baker by any means & even I was successful with them. I ran out of vanilla so I used almond extract and loved the flavor! The only problem is we just ate half of them and now I have to make more! Thanks for submitting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I live in Traverse City Michigan, and we are the Cherry capital so, I made this recipe w/ fresh picked cherries and it was soooo yummmmmy, and im sure my dh thanks you as well

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      These were as I remembered. They just melt in your mouth. Everyone loved them. They have so much flavor Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Nonnie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Very good and just darling looking. The brights bursts of color from the juicy cherry pieces are really lovely and pack a lot of flavor. Beautiful for a baby shower or a holiday cookie tray. I found these a little too floury tasting, however and would try reducing the flour a bit next time. I like the idea one reviewer had of drizzling some icing over the top - I may try that enxt time too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      Have always been a firm believer of less is best - this recipe is so basic and yet so good. They were not sugar sweet but had heaps of flavour and sweetness from the cherries. Absolutely delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      Made these the other day and they were a bit different than the traditional cookie. I agree they are very festive looking I will probably make them again around the holidays and will try the glaze that leeannr mentioned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Was disappointed not very good. Guess this recipe is not for our house. Very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      This was a very easy recipe to make. I really needed to chop up my cherries more. I ended up doing them in quarters and then there just wasn't enough cherries for each cookie. It reminds me of shortbread with a cherry surprise! I did one doz plain, another doz with the cherry glaze as suggested by someone else and I did the last doz with 1 oz chocolate melted and mixed with cherry juice and poured on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      This was a great tasting cookie. It was also a nice looking cookie. My MIL stated that it was her favorite cookie. I will be using this a lot. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      I have wanted to try this recipe for over a year now and finally made them yesterday. My husband and daughter have almost emptied the cookie jar already! A VERY easy recipe for amazing cookies. I drizzled the tops of my cookies with a powdered sugar maraschino cherry juice glaze and sprinkled the tops with sparkling sugar. Next time I make these I am going to add1/2 tsp. almond extract. These would also be wonderful by adding 1/2 cup of shredded coconut to the recipe! Thanks so much for posting this recipe, it will be made many many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      THESE ARE SOOOO AMAZING!!!!! WOW!!! I followed the recipe to a TEE and WOW PERFECTION!! I made a cherry drizzle for on top with the cherry juice and powdered sugar and I tried one without out it and their PERFECT without it!! I may just use the drizzle as a decoration!! WILL use this recipe again for sure!! SOOOO amazing!! Buttery soft creamy heaven in my mouth!! HUGE HIT here!! You have to try this one its SUPER SUPER easy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

    • on December 27, 2010

      Made these with flour reduced to two cups as advised by others and they came out perfect. Tried the glaze with the cherry juice (another tip from other reviewers) and thought they got too cute & lost their elegance. My solution to make them lovely for gift giving is pressing them slightly flat and smooshing another half cherry onto the top (round side up). Very pretty and definitely more special that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Nice! I made it per recipe, except after reading other reviews I did reduce the flour to only 2 cups. That worked great. Didn't bother to form dough into balls, just dropped spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. Flavor is perfect, very rich and buttery, wonderful proportion of cherry flavor, and not overly sweet. Thanks for this heritage recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I found that these were quite good. The sweet cherries were balanced by the more neutral dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      These were not very good and tasted very floury. They look pretty though. I think they would taste a little better with a drizzle on top, but I don't know if that would be enough to make these good. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cherry Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (927 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1210.6
     
    Calories from Fat 563
    46%
    Total Fat 62.5 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 39.0 g
    195%
    Cholesterol 162.6 mg
    54%
    Sodium 598.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 152.7 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 70.4 g
    281%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites