13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would give 10 stars if I could. excellent. I also did one of spice cake and apple pie filling and 1 of chocolate cake and black raspberry pie filling. and strawberry cake mix and strawberry pie filling

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stiles August 01, 2009

I like to make it in a bundt and only need 1/2 the icing. Always delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cntrlvallyagent January 24, 2008

I made this in a bundt pan and frosted it with some chocolate cherry frosting I had on hand. My boyfriend, who I made it for because he loves cherry anything, said it was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aur3lia84 February 08, 2015

This is so good! I made it for Valentine's Day in a heart shaped pan, and some heart-shaped muffin tins. I baked the muffin tins for probably 25 minutes and about 30 on the cake pan. We all loved the fudge-like frosting to go on top. Simple and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough February 17, 2014

This was pretty good! Batter was a bit thick. But so easy! And we reallly enjoyed it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej July 11, 2010

This was seriously good! Made exactly to recipe. I used Devil's Food Cake Mix. Think I will possibly use some cherry juice as noted by another reviewer. Thnx for posting, Tonkcats. Made for Comfort Cafe Summer 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter July 10, 2009

This was really good. I added some chopped Marachino Cherries to the frosting and some pecans. I also added some Marachino Cherry juice into the cake batter to intensify the Cherry flavor. I am going to bake one again tonight using a dark chocolate cake mix. Thanks for the idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KerryBnTX May 06, 2009

I made this last night & it is awesome!! sooooo easy to make & so good & my kids love it! i can't wait to try different flavors of cake & fruit! wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GeorgiaRain14 January 21, 2009

I was looking for an easy and wonderful chocolate cake using cherry pie filling--and for an icing recipe (so I did not have to use those awful canned icings). What a fantastic cake this was...I shared it with a couple of neighbors and it was a hit with everyone!! I thought at first the icing would be too "runny, but it was the perfect touch. (Definitely a 13 X 9 pan cake recipe because of the soft icing). And when I told my husband it had cherries in it, he told me he probably wouldn't eat any of the cake. He lied!! I just hope the last piece is still there tomorrow (it won't be!!) Highly recommend this moist and chocolately cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZoeandLotus August 18, 2008

My friend gave me this recipe years ago and I am glad I found it here so I don't need to type it in! THE BEST CAKE EVER! When I make it, I am always asked for the recipe - it is so good! It's the same as Cherry-Chocolate Cake; but is one has the frosting recipe that came with mine - it really makes it over the top good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane B. August 04, 2008
Cherry Chocolate Cake