28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I hate giving bad reviews but these cookies just weren't what I was expecting. I made them the first time for my son's Valentine's Day party and followed the exact recipe but they seemed dry and I couldn't taste very much cherry and I didn't really like the almond. So the 2nd time, I added more cherries, used butter instead of margarine, used vanilla instead of almond and rolled them in the red sugar as suggested. Still no cherry taste. I made them today for Thanksgiving and used even MORE cherries and I just can't get the flavor that I've been looking for. The cookie itself is good, it's just lacking the cherry flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness November 22, 2010

Even after adding vast amounts more cherry to the mixture, these didn't have a strong cherry taste to them and therefor the cookies were rather bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassandra.M December 25, 2009

We make these in my family ever year for Christmas. We follow this exact recipe to a T. There are never any left. We fill the center with homemade chocolate ganache instead of kisses (after baking, make a small indentation in the center of the cookie and fill with the ganache ).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kline77 December 19, 2009

The combination of cherry and chocolate is great. However, I had to add an extra 1 1/2 Tbsp. of cherry juice because the dough was too dry. Make sure there are a lot of chopped cherries because in the bites without them, you don't have enough cherry flavor. I used regular chocolate kisses, but I imagine the chocolate cherry kisses are ideal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlamoose December 22, 2008

I made these the other day and the family LOVED them! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JayAiEm September 01, 2008

I made these for my annual cookie exchange. Very delicious and beautiful cookie. And easy to make to boot! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maribeli January 14, 2008

omg these are my new favorite cookie! they have such outstanding flavor and were easy to make. i topped them w/ chocolate cherry kisses and they were perfect! will be perfect for my holiday cookie trays!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama December 21, 2007

I loved these! Quick, simple and yummy. I used the cherry cordial kisses for the top and that really brought the whole thing together. This is a Christmas keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon1025 December 10, 2007

After seeing all the wonderful reviews on this recipe, and enjoying chocolate covered cherries as one of my favorite candy, I decided to try this recipe. I really didn't care for the cookies at all. I found the cookie to be doughy, and kind of bland in taste. I tried baking them longer thinking that would help with the texture, but it didn't. About half of the cookies cracked when I pushed in the kisses, so they really didn't look as nice as they should have. To be fair, thinking I might have done something wrong, I tried making them again, and had the same results, and ended up throwing them out. This cookie, for as good as it sounded just isn't for me. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
october sky February 28, 2007

I make these cookies every Christmas, my recipe calls them Cherry Chocolate Kisses, but it is the same). It's one of my faves!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 February 11, 2007
Cherry-Chocolate Blossoms