Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chef Rocco Dispirito's Mama's Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chef Rocco Dispirito's Mama's Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2014

      I loved these meatballs. I liked the idea of blending the garlic and onion with the broth. Be careful if you have a strong onion, use less, or the onion will overpower the meatball. I didn't like that my meatballs were GREEN with the blending of the parsley in the broth, and would just add the parsley, chopped very fine, with the other ingredients. I also used leftover stale Italian bread instead of the breadcrumbs, soaking the bread in the liquid for a while to break down the bread. I would also refrigerate the mixture for about an hour before forming into meatballs for ease in shaping. The spices are just right, make for a tasty but not overpowering meatball.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      My Sicilian MawMaw made her meatballs from scratch. This is the best recipe I have tried to make meatballs that taste like hers without starting from stale, wet French bread! She only used ground beef (no pork or veal), so that's what I do and they are awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      I just watched Chef Rocco Dispirito on Food Network with his newest Healthy "Spaghetti with My Mamas Meatballs" recipe... I'm hopping Food.com will do the Nutritional Facts on his newest recipe... Food.com is my go site for all the Nutritional Facts on most of the recipes I cook... Thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I've been meaning to try these meatballs ever since I saw Mama DiSpirito make them during an episode of "The Restaurant". I made them tonight and I was not disappointed. They were the best meatballs I've ever tasted, hands down. I topped them with my own marinara that is very close to Mama's Marinara. In short, if you like Italian-style meatballs, try this and don't substitute on the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I make these meatballs about once every two months, the whole family loves them. I triple the recipe each time and freeze the leftovers. My fifth grade son got straight A+'s on his report card, I asked him how he wanted to celebrate; He said "Make your spaghetti and meatballs!"... that's saying something! thanks Rocco

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      These are the very best meatballs ever! And they freeze well for later use. This recipe makes quite a few meatballs. They are tender and moist and very flavorful. Thanks Rocco's Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      These are what meatballs are meant to be. I found the recipe in a Womans Day magazine, and have loved it ever since. So ofter meatballs are just too greasy for me, but these have never turned out greasy for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      These were very good meatballs, and I will be making them again, although I used onion powder instead of onion, I will use onions in the next batch. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      This is now my meatball recipe. The taste and consistancy were excellent. Very tender meatballs. Even husband who almost never comments either way loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      I'm not sure how to rate these meatballs. Dh thought they were ok, but I didn't care for them. The consistency was very good, but the flavor was overpowered by the onion. I didn't have any parm-reggiano, so I used asiago. I will make these again, omitting the onion, because as I said the consistency was great and I think without such a strong onion flavor they would be very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2004

      After finding this recipe in an issue of Woman's World Magizine, I made these meatballs and we all loved them. A little different than the usual method of making meatballs but with the end result being quite good. The only change I made was to cut the red pepper in half (just a personal preference).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chef Rocco Dispirito's Mama's Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 750.5
     
    Calories from Fat 429
    57%
    Total Fat 47.7 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 227.0 mg
    75%
    Sodium 1710.3 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 41.9 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites