Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Taco Pockets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Taco Pockets

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2008

      I think the name is a little deceiving here, as they didn't taste like tacos, but they were still good. Next time I will leave out the oregano and cinnamon, and add in some taco seasoning along with the ground cumin and chili powder. Thanks Mama for the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      these were great but i had no puff pastry an used wonton wrappers an deep fried them.ill make them for grandkids for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      LOVELOVELOVE these!!! Easy to make, the kids loved them. Not difficult to make & loads of fun to eat! Thanks for a great entry; good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Made these for an appetizer party, and they were very popular. I used the left over filling later in the week for nachos...that was even better! Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I found the filling here a bit disappointing. I was looking for more of the "taco" flavor mentioned in the recipe title and this reminded me more of Greek flavors with the cinammon & slightly sweet taste. I loved the addition of the cilantro, although if I were to make again I might reserve half to stir in in the final few minutes of cooking. I thought the amount of cinnamon should be reduced as we found it overpowering. I made 6 large pockets instead of appetizer size and froze half. Other than that adjustment I made the recipe as written. Both DH and I rated this as a "like it" instead of a "love it" recipe. I did appreciate the freezing instructions included with the recipe. Good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      These were deceptive, at first I thought they were rather a dry-ish meat mixture enclosed in pastry and *then* the little kick of the cilantro/coriander and chili powder wound this up a notch with a slap in the taste buds that was quite refreshing. They would certainly make nice appetisers or pot luck dish ( all pre assembled and with an oven available to cook them in), or cocktail party where you’d like guests to be eating more substantially than just cheese on sticks with their drinks… I could also see this as an entrée/ appy to a long sit down dinner with time and conversation in between courses. As a serious lover of coriander I did increase it more than stated, the rest of the recipe was made as stated. Please see my rating system: a lovely 4 stars for a tasty appy that I would happily make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Everyone loved these pockets. This recipe was included in our family RSC Pillow Tasting "Party" and this recipe was among the top recipes of the night. These are very family-friendly and the cheese ties the ingredients together well. They are awesome with sour cream and salsa! Good Luck Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This is a great recipe! As soon as I saw the ingredients, I was hooked. My family loves Taco's and it is in our rotation. I decided to throw them something new, and I'm glad I did. All the seasoning here blended perfectly. Outstanding. Served with refried pinto beans. It made a lot, so I froze half of it to use later. Only a couple days later my boys were asking for it again. So, there you have it. It's a *keeper* with my picky eaters. Good Luck Chef you deserve more than 5 stars on this one! ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Thanks for creating these tasty treats! I think next time I'll add some jalapenos to kick up the heat a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I haven't submitted a review since the new 'codes' next to the stars were published. So based on the "OK" standard for 2-stars, that is how I reviewed this....even though my older review standards would have probably given this a 3-4 star rating. Here is some specific feedback: -Creativity. I thought these were a great idea. In fact, they turned out to be the only RSC recipe I tried this time. The instructions for freezing were great, and really is what lured me to try this out! -Try as I might, I could not figure out how to turn a 16X12 inch sheet of pastry into 8 even pieces that could be folded into triangles! I believe they need to be squared to be able to form the triangles, and I couldn't figure this out. -The seasonings did not seem right for tacos. The flavorings seemed far more mid-eastern that taco-like. -Prep time seems way off. Perhaps I am slow, but I only made a half batch, and these took me way longer than 45 minutes to prepare. -Taste: Unfortunately, despite this great idea, no one in my family liked them, except for me! I am not a big beef-eater, so they are stored in my freezer right now waiting for when I might be in the beef mood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I only made half this recipe and I wish I would have made the full amount! I really liked the fact that I could make these ahead and freeze. It was a good use of contest ingredients and we enjoyed these very much! Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Taco Pockets

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.9
     
    Calories from Fat 301
    61%
    Total Fat 33.4 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 51.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 330.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites