12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I think the name is a little deceiving here, as they didn't taste like tacos, but they were still good. Next time I will leave out the oregano and cinnamon, and add in some taco seasoning along with the ground cumin and chili powder. Thanks Mama for the idea!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme January 09, 2008

I'm a single adult. I'm ALWAYS looking for creative lunch recipes. This one is a keeper. I added the cinnamon but just a hint (I'm not BIG on cinnamon). It gave it just a hint of earthiness without over powering the dish for me. For children, the amount of chili powder is just right but for an adult... I think I'll add more next time or use Jalapeño Jack instead of the cheddar/jack pre-shredded version I used (I was pressed for time). I think this is an amazing recipe. I'll be making it for work lunches regularly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilMissMolly October 07, 2014

these were great but i had no puff pastry an used wonton wrappers an deep fried them.ill make them for grandkids for sure

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOANN-N-TRACY December 14, 2007

LOVELOVELOVE these!!! Easy to make, the kids loved them. Not difficult to make & loads of fun to eat! Thanks for a great entry; good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo March 19, 2007

Made these for an appetizer party, and they were very popular. I used the left over filling later in the week for nachos...that was even better! Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonshadow22 March 18, 2007

I found the filling here a bit disappointing. I was looking for more of the "taco" flavor mentioned in the recipe title and this reminded me more of Greek flavors with the cinammon & slightly sweet taste. I loved the addition of the cilantro, although if I were to make again I might reserve half to stir in in the final few minutes of cooking. I thought the amount of cinnamon should be reduced as we found it overpowering. I made 6 large pockets instead of appetizer size and froze half. Other than that adjustment I made the recipe as written. Both DH and I rated this as a "like it" instead of a "love it" recipe. I did appreciate the freezing instructions included with the recipe. Good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D March 18, 2007

These were deceptive, at first I thought they were rather a dry-ish meat mixture enclosed in pastry and *then* the little kick of the cilantro/coriander and chili powder wound this up a notch with a slap in the taste buds that was quite refreshing. They would certainly make nice appetisers or pot luck dish ( all pre assembled and with an oven available to cook them in), or cocktail party where you’d like guests to be eating more substantially than just cheese on sticks with their drinks… I could also see this as an entrée/ appy to a long sit down dinner with time and conversation in between courses. As a serious lover of coriander I did increase it more than stated, the rest of the recipe was made as stated. Please see my rating system: a lovely 4 stars for a tasty appy that I would happily make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 18, 2007

Everyone loved these pockets. This recipe was included in our family RSC Pillow Tasting "Party" and this recipe was among the top recipes of the night. These are very family-friendly and the cheese ties the ingredients together well. They are awesome with sour cream and salsa! Good Luck Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 17, 2007

This is a great recipe! As soon as I saw the ingredients, I was hooked. My family loves Taco's and it is in our rotation. I decided to throw them something new, and I'm glad I did. All the seasoning here blended perfectly. Outstanding. Served with refried pinto beans. It made a lot, so I froze half of it to use later. Only a couple days later my boys were asking for it again. So, there you have it. It's a *keeper* with my picky eaters. Good Luck Chef you deserve more than 5 stars on this one! ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) March 17, 2007

Thanks for creating these tasty treats! I think next time I'll add some jalapenos to kick up the heat a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 March 17, 2007
Cheesy Taco Pockets