34 Reviews

This recipe surprised me. I made it the night before for company. I thought after I mixed all ingredients, this isn't going to be that good.The next day I baked it in the oven,this casserole was just great.Probably one of the better recipes I've tried at zaar. I used whole wheat pasta and added mushrooms, frozen leaf spinach and regular cream of mushroom soup, Added more garlic to hamburger.The best! Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy in PA. September 18, 2003

This tasted good. I probably should have used more cheese. I used about 8 oz of cheese because I didn't have any more on hand. I also used cream of mushroom soup since the store didn't have one with garlic in it. My daughter loved this casserole but my husband rated it as "ok".

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas February 01, 2003

Yummy! Simple and easy dinner to make and serve. I added a can of diced tomatoes and chilis. Added a nice taste and extra veggies. (I would recommend cutting up the fresh spinach before cooking to get kids to eat the spinach)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BizMack January 24, 2011

I read ALL the reviews before making this. I used 8 ounces of whole wheat pasta shells and ground turkey instead of ground beef. I added 15 ounces of diced tomatoes and a small can of mushrooms. I also added a splash of milk. It came out very creamy and delicious I would make this again. Thanks for a great recipe, Heather!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Khlandestyne November 11, 2010

I had made this for my husband and 2 of his friends, he's a casserole freak. When i got home, they were eating pizza. I am sorry the rating they gave this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dancer^ September 26, 2003

Cannot believe the reviews. Made this tonight only because of the reviews. Everyone hated it (me, husband & 3 kids) Kids later had spaghettios for dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandydann September 21, 2003

Based on other reviews, I used 8 oz. of cheese the first time. The second time, I tried 10 oz. and that was better. Both times, it seemed dry, so I added 1 cup of fat free half-and-half. I had to guess at the spinach, since I grow my own, so I used an amount that yielded about 3 cups of wilted spinach. I didn't have any casserole dishes large enough, and barely managed to fit it in a 9"x13"x2" baking pan. What I made is a TASTY dish, but I have no idea if it is what the author made, since some measurements were my guesswork, so that's why 4 stars instead of 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BriarCraft October 08, 2013

Tasty & easy recipe to make. Few changes; I increased the beef & added 1 italian sausage, reduced the pasta by half. I used garlic peppercorn spice and for 1/2 of the soup I sub'd some yogurt. Not exactly sure how much spinach or cheese to add; I added 4 oz of spinach and 5 oz of cheese. It was cheesy enough for us but I could add more spinach next time. Very well received by our household, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 February 17, 2013

This was pretty good in my opinion, DH didn't like it at all. Kids couldn't eat it because it was too spicy. With some tweaking it might have gone over better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu October 16, 2011

I needed to make something different tonight for dinner. So I picked this, and boy was it a hit. So easy and my family loved it. It's a keeper. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amdprincess May 12, 2010
Cheesy Spinach and Beef Casserole