48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy recipe. So glad to have found it!!
I didn't have green onions so I diced 1/2 a yellow onion and I added fat-free half-and-half and paprika on top in addition to the cheese because, here, in S.C. there's always a cream sauce/ gravy that tops shrimp and grits.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kambkr June 22, 2011

A real winner from Southern Living magazine. I have made this recipe on many occasions with rave reviews from my guests every time. I even have some friends who regularly hint that it's time for me to make this casserole again. I prep the recipe a day in advance, assemble and bake on the evening of my dinner parties. Only changes are that I use 2 garlic cloves and 1.5 lb. shrimp.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krp September 09, 2009

I have made this casserole many times and it is great. I have made it with changes and as is. The one change I made and have kept is using Pepper Jack cheese. Oh, yum. It has a kick but is not too spicy. Also, I ALWAYS use instant grits. A sin here in Alabama, but not one person has noticed or complained. ;) I once found blue grits at a farmers market and it tasted the same, but it was colorful and pretty. I am making for a side dish at Thanksgiving this year.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
antonietteh_1163576 November 21, 2011

De-lish.Perfect brunch for Father's Day after church. I got rave reviews from a not so easy crowd to please, and they even wanted the recipe. In my opinion its a pretty forgiving recipe as well. I used veg stock since that is what I had, and I used both green onions and a couple of shallots but no green pepper. I also used the original Rotel and was told that it could've been spicier so next time I will also add japs. This is a keeper for sure! Thank you Bev~ Oh, and I agree with the servings... this was served to 4 people who are in their 60's and 70's and my husband who is in his 40's and it only served the 5!! (I was sick that day, but they saved me a smidgen)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancyo June 21, 2010

Very easy and very good. I added fresh diced tomatoes and a small hand full of diced jalapenos. Excellent comments.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjjerky February 25, 2010

delicious. I added bacon, some Tabasco and paprika also.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmj9476 July 05, 2009

Bev, this is by far one of the best meals I have ever had the pleasure of making. Very impressive. This one is defiantly going to be on the menu more often.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Hixson May 04, 2009

I tried this recipe this past weekend and all I can say is Oh My Gosh, what a great casserole. By the time my kids stopped by there was nothing left. Will definitely be making this again but will add a little more shrimp next time. Thanks for a great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitkathryn February 03, 2009

Wonderful, served with ham at Christmas. I will make again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio January 04, 2009

In past years, I have served traditional shrimp and grits for Christmas Brunch. However, over the years, our group has grown to over 25 people. I served this casserole this year and was so pleased with the many favorable comments I received. I had many folks asking for the recipe, including a professional chef! The only thing I did different was to double the amount of shrimp called for. I used large shrimp and cut them in half.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spices6 December 30, 2008
Cheesy Shrimp & Grits Casserole