Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Shrimp-and-Grits Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Shrimp-and-Grits Casserole

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2006

      This was absolutely FABULOUS - I made it from my family for Christmas breakfast and they could not get enough of it! I actually prepared it the night before and it turned out WONDERUL- thank you so much for helping make Christmas a success! God Bless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      I love this recipe. The best way to eat grits by far. The only change I made was more cheese. 2 cups for the grits and 1 cup for the topping. And I usually add some extra shrimp for good measure. I have had more compliments on this dish than I can count. And it's super easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      This was yummy! Great as a brunch item. Thanks. Jen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      I love this. Double recipe and use raw shrimp instead of cooked. Needs more shrimp though. Freezes well. I prefer the mexican rotel tomatoes with cilantro

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      We made this tonight and really enjoyed it, but there is no way that it would serve 10 (in my home)DH and I ate half of it at one meal. He kept going back for "just one more spoonful." I did overlook the part about draining the Rotel and I was afraid that it would be to soupy, but it was still wonerful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      We loved this spicy shrimp and grits combo. Next time I'll use a little less chicken broth, for thicker grits. So flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      Really good! Since I can't tolerate corn sometimes, I used amaranth grain instead. Same creamy, "gritty" texture, just a little different color. I went ahead and just cooked the shrimp in the green onion mixture. Very easy and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      I think I forgot to give this stars on my previous review. 5 stars, for sure!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2012

      I've heard about Shrimp & Grits but had never tried it so obviously hadn't made it. So glad I finally did!! My DJ and in laws loved it!! Fantastic warmed up too. I did use medium shrimp and 1 lb and a half. Shelled, de-veined and cut in half before I cooked the shrimp. Don't like baby salad shrimp. Thanks and will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      This is a great recipe. I love authentic shrimp and grits. Though this isn't the real thing, it's delicious and very easy. I used mild Rotel and cheddar jack in place of pepper jack. Was still plenty spicy. Rave reviews from family and friends.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      I can't tell you how good this is--a new favorite of mine. You will be amazed how many friends and family will praise this dish. I used both the hot and regular Rotel, just depends on how much heat you want, both were great in this dish. It will seem a little"soupy" when taken from the oven but it does thicken up. I NEVER have to throw any away-wonderful reheated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Very good! My daughter's boyfriend's first taste of grits, and he really liked it. This was good left over, too. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      This is comfort food at it's best...southern style! I mixed 1 Tbs. olive oil, salt and pepper to taste with 1 1/2 lbs. shrimp and roasted them at 400 degrees for 5 minutes. I grated 8 oz. of Cabot Pepper Jack cheese in the casserole itself and finished it off with more cheddar on top. And I always check who likes something spicy or not so spicy because this dictates whether I use the mild or original Rotel diced tomatoes. Everything else remains exact. My mouth's waterin' just thinking about this~~ enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

    • on April 03, 2014

      Made this for a family gathering over the weekend. AH-MA-ZING!!! It made a ton and it was all eaten. Got all kind of raves over it :)) Thanks for the great recipe!<br/><br/>RGG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Excellent dish for Mardi Gras. Took it to Bunko last night and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I just made this with frozen (thawed) small salad shrimp as my s/o is recovering from dental surgery and I wanted it to be soft. I've had a number of "tastes" even before baking, and it is absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      I love low country items! The few places near me that serve shrimp and grits are so expensive! It's so easy to head to this website and find a great recipe.<br/>This was an easy one to prepare. The only downside is peeling the shrimp.<br/>Very yummy and I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      Loved it will make again. Had to use instant grits that were packaged individually for breakfast because that was the only grits I could find in the whole store. It was a little runny but I'm sure that will correct itself when cooked with regular grits. I sautéed the shrimp with onions & bell peppers & mixed it up with everything else & baked 45 minutes. Served with dinner rolls & a salad & everyone enjoyed it. Hubby claimed leftovers for his lunch before he was even finished with his dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      I agree with prep work in advance, assembly is simple. I also increased the shrimp to 1 1/2 lbs. this is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Shrimp-and-Grits Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.7
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    43%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 85.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 997.1 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes