Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes and Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes and Ham

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2010

      Loved this dish! I combined some steps to make it easier and quicker without compromisig any flavor. I used red potatoes that I didn't have to peel. I cubed the potatoes and set aside not covered in water, mixed with the ham. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup flour, 3.5 cups of FF milk, 2 cups of cheese that I shredded in a combination of Grueyere, cheddar, and smoked gouda. After the white sauce was made, I incorporated 1/2 the cheese to make it a cheese sauce. I also doubled the amount of seasonings (except salt) and cooked for 65 minutes until the potatoes were soft and the dish was bubbling and browning, eliminating the step under the broiler. Instead of layering, I had previously mixed the potataoes and ham together in the bowl so all I did was pour that into the casserole dish and pour the cheese sauce over that, topping with cheese. I know it sounds like I cahnged a lot but all I did was combine some steps, used red potatoes and doubled some seasonigs, and decreasing some of the milk. Loved it and everyone had seconds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      I really, really liked the flavor of this dish but I had some difficulty with the recipe. As with all new recipes, I allowed some extra time to prepare it. Since it said 15 minutes prep I allowed for about 30 minutes. Unfortunately, it took me over 50 minutes to get it ready for the oven which really threw my dinner schedule off. The other thing I had problems with is it was extremely soupy when it was done. I could only think of two things to cause this...maybe I didn't use enough potatoes? It might be helpful to include an amount in cups, not just '4 potatoes' since size can vary so much. Or maybe the dish needs to set for a while before serving? If so, it would be helpful to include that information in the recipe as well. But, like I said, the flavor was perfect and I really enjoyed it!! Thanks Babs!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      I made this with leftover smoke turkey that had been in freezer since Christmas. I browned up the meat first to get rid of any freezer burn, and it was delicious in this dish. I also added a cup of shredded cabbage to add some vegetables to the dish. The sauce was not too soupy, even with 4 cups milk, but I did let the sauce thicken on the stove quite a bit. It could have used more cheese or definitely a stronger flavored cheese--make sure you use real sharp cheese and not cheese food product. I made it for church potluck or else would have added red peppers, sauteed green peppers, a little more "kick". But it reheated beautifully and was a good made-from-scratch casserole. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Very tasty! Based on some of the other reviews, I cut the milk back to 3 cups. Since my husband and me are both cheese lovers, I used 2 cups cheese. The seasonings for this dish were right on. I think this would be just as good without the ham, if you were just looking for scalloped potatoes. Thank you, Babs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Fantastic! I modified the recipe a bit with "Pam" and "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" and skim milk, to reduce the fat. Changed the seasonings to our favorites. Still really good! PLUS my 3-year-old had a great time helping me create the layers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Since there was only my SO and myself,I only made half of the recipe.I felt that there was just too much milk,and I had to add a little bit more flour to thicken the sauce.So the next time that I make this for just two people, I'll decrease the milk down to 1 1/2 cups.As for the rest of the recipe,I had some pre-cubed ham already in the freeze,and used that.I increased the pepper,and cut the amount of salt down to just 1/2 teaspoon.And being the cheese lover that I am :)I kept the full amount of cheese. My SO and I both really enjoyed the addition of the nutmeg and Italian Seasoning that made an ordinary potato and ham dish "something not so ordinary".Even though the prep took a little longer than it was stated this will be made again."Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Very nice dinner. I liked the combination of seasonings and the creamy cheese sauce (I used about 3 cups of milk and less flour and butter.) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      The recipe might have turned out soupy because of the amount of milk...my mother used to use about 2 to 2 1/2 cups (and about 1/4 cup flour). Also, you want to use a starchy potato, because it helps thicken the sauce as it breaks down during cooking. To speed up the potato slicing, use a food processor, or hand-operated vegetable "mandoline."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes and Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (580 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 633.1
     
    Calories from Fat 241
    38%
    Total Fat 26.7 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 97.3 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1586.5 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.4 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites