14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! This dish was UNBELIEVABLY GOOD. (Warning - it is VERY rich - in the good way.) Everyone that tried it said that it was the best scalloped/au gratin potato dish that they had ever had. It was pretty easy to make too. I did make a couple of alterations. Specifically, I used about 8 Yukon Gold potatoes instead of baking potatoes as I find them more creamy and delicious. Also, instead of 6 oz of herbed cream cheese I used an 8 ox container of whipped garlic/onion cream cheese. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of whole milk, I used 2 cups of 2 percent low fat and 1/2 cup of heavy cream. I used a very sharp, hard, white Irish cheddar cheese as the cheddar. All in all I'm sure that the recipe would be just as good as written, I just changed these things to my taste and what I had on hand. 6 people have asked me for this recipe - I think that's the highest praise I could give it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Troy Nelson April 12, 2004

This is EXCELLENT! Made it for Easter Sunday and even the little grandkids loved it! My town did not have the cream cheese with herbs, so I substituted that with 1 envelope of Good Seasons Garlic & Herb salad dressing and 6 oz of Philadelphia cream cheese. I reccomend this dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rwmlwoods April 13, 2009

This was simply delicious. Made for a dinner party and I've already given out the recipe three times since.<br/>Fairly easy to make and the outcome is divine.<br/>I did not make any changes except I used Onion and Chive Cream Cheese instead of herbed cream cheese. Not too big of a difference.<br/><br/>Will definitely be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmwood1012 March 17, 2014

I made this tonight and it was AMAZING!! I left out the nutmeg and the only thing I changed was the cream cheese. I couldn't find the one the recipe calls for so I did as another reviewer suggested and used normal cream cheese with a packet of good seasons garlic and herb salad dressing mix. This will now be my go to scalloped potatoes recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melbellex3 November 30, 2013

The hit of our Easter dinner! I love all the different cheeses in here. A splurge, definitely, but SO worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com October 24, 2012

This recipe was excellent!!!! I have tried many scalloped potato recipes on this site and now I can say that I have found my scalloped potato recipe. It was really easy to make and the results were so delicious. I followed the directions exactly how stated except I was confused about cream cheese with herbs. I used the Philadelphia Cooking cr?me w/ cheese and herb because that was the closest thing I could find that match. If anyone knows what I should have used please let me know. Thank you so much for posting the wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Metritek May 28, 2012

Excellent!!!!!!!!Oh SOOOOOOOOOOOO good! Was unsure of the nutmeg, but through it in anyway! Was glad I did, Thank you!!!! It has been made many times in my home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis April 11, 2010

What delicious scalloped potatoes. And I do love potatoes ... and cheese. I used 8 oz. container whipped garlic onion cream cheese, sharp white cheddar and swiss. The sauce for these is very rich and tasty. This is my scalloped potato recipe now. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tricia in ga December 25, 2008

Wow!!! I too used the garlic/onion cream cheese instead of the herb cream cheese. I followed the rest of the recipe as is. My family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlie J. April 11, 2008

Made these a few nights ago - they did not taste as good as they looked. We found them to be a little bland. With all the calories per serving - we would rather have my garlic roasted potatoes. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky Hostess January 03, 2006
Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes