16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG, these were ridiculously good. Cheese, potatoes, bacon and onion...how can you go wrong? I used Monterey Jack and threw in some Caso fresco I had in the fridge. I also cranked up the oven to 400 degrees for the last 20 minutes and got a wonderful crisp top. Perfect. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 April 15, 2009

I used smoked cheese (pepperjack and cheddar) and I sauteed the onions with the bacon instead of including them raw. This gave the dish a wonderful, smoky, caramelized flavor. The dish was a huge hit. Cook time was right on and the sauce to potato ratio was also good. 15min prep time is ambitious unless you use pre-shredded cheese and pre-sliced potatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwinsChef December 25, 2007

These were a big hit in my house, demanding a repeat performance the next week. I halved the recipe as did the previous reviewer and regretted it firmly as there wasn't enough to go around. I substituted cubed ham instead of the bacon, and used the Monterey Jack with jalapenos as RitaL suggested... a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soldier Girl November 04, 2003

Excellent recipe! Great flavor, great texture. I did not use the onion or bacon as my dinner already included plenty of both. :) I did add a dash of fresh nutmeg to the slurry. Will definitely make again! Did not have to raise temp to brown. It did nicely on it's own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmwood1012 January 11, 2015

Didn't add the bacon. These were awesome.. I was eating the sauce with a spoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u January 30, 2014

My family loved this. I added garlic randomly as I layered. I also omitted the bacon and brie cheese. I used old cheddar cheese (2cups) and added Parmesan after the first layer.
AWESOME. Mine took 1 hour 20 mins to cook.
Ty Rita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teriffic July 01, 2011

Outstanding! I made this exactly as written and it was wonderful. My two roomies just went nuts over this. They both said it was a 10 star recipe! Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY January 09, 2010

This recipe was OK, my family agreed that it didn't have a lot of flavor. But I think it would be really good with some adjustments. Next time I might add some cream cheese, garlic & sour cream, or some cream of chicken soup. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frugal chef September 06, 2008

Rita these were amazing. I made them with a pork loin roast, and baby carrots. I had never done homemade scalloped potatoes, but everyone went nuts for these. I will definitely be doing them again. Deb

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newfie wanna be May 12, 2008

Nice recipe here. I liked the idea of the brie. I halved the recipe as many other reviews did and wished i hadn't cause it was so tasty. Used Hormel artificial bacon bit to save on preperation time and the casserole was still nice and tasty. Thanks Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tweeky February 14, 2008
Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes