Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2009

      OMG, these were ridiculously good. Cheese, potatoes, bacon and onion...how can you go wrong? I used Monterey Jack and threw in some Caso fresco I had in the fridge. I also cranked up the oven to 400 degrees for the last 20 minutes and got a wonderful crisp top. Perfect. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I used smoked cheese (pepperjack and cheddar) and I sauteed the onions with the bacon instead of including them raw. This gave the dish a wonderful, smoky, caramelized flavor. The dish was a huge hit. Cook time was right on and the sauce to potato ratio was also good. 15min prep time is ambitious unless you use pre-shredded cheese and pre-sliced potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      These were a big hit in my house, demanding a repeat performance the next week. I halved the recipe as did the previous reviewer and regretted it firmly as there wasn't enough to go around. I substituted cubed ham instead of the bacon, and used the Monterey Jack with jalapenos as RitaL suggested... a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      Didn't add the bacon. These were awesome.. I was eating the sauce with a spoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      My family loved this. I added garlic randomly as I layered. I also omitted the bacon and brie cheese. I used old cheddar cheese (2cups) and added Parmesan after the first layer.
      AWESOME. Mine took 1 hour 20 mins to cook.
      Ty Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Outstanding! I made this exactly as written and it was wonderful. My two roomies just went nuts over this. They both said it was a 10 star recipe! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This recipe was OK, my family agreed that it didn't have a lot of flavor. But I think it would be really good with some adjustments. Next time I might add some cream cheese, garlic & sour cream, or some cream of chicken soup. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Rita these were amazing. I made them with a pork loin roast, and baby carrots. I had never done homemade scalloped potatoes, but everyone went nuts for these. I will definitely be doing them again. Deb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Nice recipe here. I liked the idea of the brie. I halved the recipe as many other reviews did and wished i hadn't cause it was so tasty. Used Hormel artificial bacon bit to save on preperation time and the casserole was still nice and tasty. Thanks Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I am baking this in the oven with a ham for New Years day supper as I write this. I did it all in one large frying pan. I sauteed the onions with the bacon in a little butter until onions were soft and then added the flour, and milk (1 cup half and half with one cup skim milk)to make the white sauce. I then added the cheese (chedder and brie) which melted quickly into the mixture and layered the potatoes with the mixture in a large glass baking dish which I sprayed with cooking spray first (already enough butter in the recipe). The bacon became part of the mix as the French would use it (like a lardon) rather than as a garnish. It added a nice bacon/smokey flavor to the dish. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Sooo yummy!! I usually eat vegan so I tried to resist this, but I couldn't help but have a bite! I made this dish this morning for Christmas brunch and it went over very well! I used all shredded cheddar, colby, and jack cheeses because I didn't have any brie. I used 1/2 soy milk, 1/2 skim milk. I also omitted the onions because my family doesn't like them. This was easy to make and a great finished product! I kept it in for a little over 45 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Great dish! Very easy to prepare and super delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      MMMMM! Really good Rita! I made these for a small BBQ we threw for my husband's Marines and they ate it up! The brie was a great idea. LOVED IT! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      Good recipe, I did make it the night before I needed it, and the sauce is not as creamy, but people still really enjoyed them. I would suggest make and eat in the same day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

      I really loved these scalloped potatoes! The sauce was creamy and cheesy, baked up with a nice brown top. I halved the recipe, and used artificial bacon bits. I will be making this again soon! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 469.2
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    44%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 70.5 mg
    23%
    Sodium 684.8 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites