Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2009

      I didn't have shredded Velveeta & couldn't grate the regular kind so I made small cubes. I also threw in a little bit of provolone that needed to be used up. Didn't put in onions because of the kids, but would have liked them for myself. Served with grilled ham steaks. UPDATE: Made these again today but used the hand-held grater to get a thinner, more even potato slice - I only had one HUGE potato that needed used up. Added chopped onion (no kids today) simmered SLOW in veg broth w/about 1/2 cup leftover ham steak for a bit before transferring potatoes & roux to casserole dish. Put under broiler for last 5 mins for crispy crusty top. These were my best scalloped ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I am giving this 5 stars even though mine did not turn out the way I would have like. This is how my mom made scalloped potatoes and they are my favorite. I made them for tonights dinner but used skim milk and 2% Velveeta cheese. Don't do this! They tasted ok, but were curdled looking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2014

      Best scalloped potatoes ever!! I used the store brand of Velveeta Cheese and melted it in with the sauce. I used 2% milk. It was excellent. Have taken this dish to several church potlucks and always come home with an empty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      AWESOME. First made for Easter dinner, then today with cut up ham steak. Family loves these. It was a bit difficult to hold on to the frozen Velveeta to shred it. Best thing about this recipe is nothing curdles. Adding shredded parmesan and/or Mexican blend shredded cheese at the end gives a little more zip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      I melted the Velveeta into the sauce. Running out of time, so cooked them in the microwave. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      This is the way that I've always made what my mom called scalloped potatoes. I also believe that these are the best. I have a suggestion for those that might be in a hurry for these to get done quicker. You can par-boil your potatoes for approx. 5 minutes and drain before placing them in your baking dish and also add cubes of your Velveeta cheese into your white sauce after the white sauce has been prepared and simmer slowly while stirring often until your cheese has melted. <br/>Another suggestion: Substitute the potatoes with macaroni shells that have been cooked until "al dente" and drained and bake until hot and bubbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

    • on January 16, 2009

      Great potatoes, Marie! I did lighten them up with 2% milk and Lite margarine. THX

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      WONDERFUL...I made these for christmas dinner at my friends house and they were loved by all who ate them! 3 different people asked for the recipe. Thanks a Million

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      These were excellent...I add some cubed ham to the layers. These were cheesey and creamy. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Yum Yum! We had these with pork chops and a salad and they were VERY good. Instead of thinly slicing I was lazy and just peeled and cut them into bite sized pieces. They were awesome. I added a tiny bit of onion and I will definitely be making these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      I made this last night. It is the best recipe for scallop potatoes I have had!!!!!! 5 STARS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      Have been making these potatoes for years. Wonderful recipe, it is always a hit with family and friends. Thanks for submitting!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (410 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 492.4
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    29%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 47.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 163.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.1 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Velveeta cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites