Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      Mmmmm, fantastic! Because I'm on a calorie-reduced diet, I reduced the amount of cheddar cheese to 1 cup and used a low fat cheese. That gave significant calorie savings without sacrificing too much of the flavour. One other suggestion is to top with some browned turkey bacon and serve with a salad to make this a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2001

      This is a wonderful recipe. Easy to do, quick (if you use the oven method)and flavorful. Can be adapted to things on hand. A layer or two of sliced onions changes the taste. Guests have requested this dish when they know I am cooking. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2001

      I would have never thought of scalloped potatoes in the crockpot.I added ham chunks for a main dish.Yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2001

    • on June 17, 2010

      I did make a butter flour paste first before adding milk based on other reviews...it turned out perfect....we enjoyed them very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This being the first time I've had scalloped potatoes since I was a kid 20 years ago, I don't have a basis for comparison. However, aside from time-consuming preparation, these were easy to make, and were pretty tasty. Next time I would definitely add some kind of meat (bacon or ham) and some onions to jazz it up a little, but otherwise, I'd leave it as is. I had servings of it, and so did my boyfriend. I did take mine out of the oven after 1 hour and 20 minutes though as the tops were looking plenty crispy and the sample slice I pulled out of it was cooked through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I scaled this back for 4-5 serves but had to double the half-and-half (in my case hi-lo milk mixed with cream) and add about an extra 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese (didn't use parmesan) to cover. If making again I would add some crispy cooked bacon and some spring onion and would always use the paprika. Also took 45 to cook at 175C fan forced oven (I had 3 layers of potatoes thinly sliced). Thank you GrandmalsCooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I made this in the crockpot and wasn't entirely pleased with the results. However, I didn't follow the recipe exactly, adding some diced ham. The sauce was thinner than I expected and quite bland (despite the ham). I think this would be better if baked in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I made this recipe on 5/24/09 as part of mine and SO's dinner. I made as written for the oven except for the following, Yukon Gold potatoes were used and I didn't peel them. I don't know if using the Yukons made a difference or not, but the recipe just didn't turn out for us.But, thank you for taking the time to " Adopt " an orphaned recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

    • on December 30, 2008

      Great simple recipe, tastes like what my grandma used to make. Added some leftover ham and some thinly sliced onions. My husband gave it rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Loved these! The simplicity of the recipe is how I usually make mine and you get the nice potato flavor without a bunch of other ingredients. I easily halved the recipe and used Land O Lakes fat free half and half for the liquid and skipped the parmesan. Baking time was about 70 minutes. Will definitely use this recipe again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Boring. Even with the addition of an onion. I cooked it on low for 5 hours and the outside edge burned (may be just my crockpot). I don't think I will ever make this again. Which is sad because I had high hopes for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      Awfully bland and boring. There really was no cheese flavor, or any for that matter. Easy to make, just needs some tweaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      These potatoes turned out really well. I added garlic powder about 1 tbsp, and 1 cup of broccoli. I mixed the milk, flour, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and broccoli in a bowl first so they were well combined. Then I layered the potatoes, covered them with the milk mixture and sprinkled the cheese on top. I did this in 4 layers, keeping a little extra cheese for the top. I cooked them covered for the first hour then uncovered them to let the cheese crisp up. They were cooked to perfection, we really enjoyed them. Even my kids gobbled them up. Thanks, I will make these again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      we made this as the recipe is written, not making any changes.. apparantly we read the directions wrong, and didn't do several layers. My husband said that he was a bit confused if he should just do the layering once or over and over. With the cheeses just on top it created a cheese cover and hardly any melted down. My husband wouldn't eat it, but I did. I think had it been mixed up or something it would've been way better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made these potatoes for our annual Christmas party and they were a hit. Everyone was asking for the recipe. They were very cheesy & the potatoes were done to perfection. I didn't change anything in the recipe. I followed it exactly. This will be made often in this house & for other parties in 2008. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This is a very good side dish! I didn't peel my spuds and shot them through the salad shooter so they were all sliced the same thickness. I used fat free half and half and fat free cheese too. I also used the oven method and sprayed my casserole dish with Pam first. (The directions didn't say to.) I took a picture but it didn't turn out too pretty. Next time I'm going to make these in the crock pot. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      PERFECTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is now officially my FAVORITE potato recipe. I too cooked it in the oven and it was delicious. Thanks for an outstanding recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I'm not sure what I did wrong but my potatoes were still "crunchy". We liked the flavor and the creamyness (is that a word?) but they never got soft. I tried to put them back in for a bit but didn't work. I am not giving up on this recipe though.....I will review again after the next time. Sorry I couldn't give more stars, maybe next time....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 332.0
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    28%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 32.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 260.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 14.1 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites