22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just made these ahead for company tomorrow. I will have to run to the store for more ingredients because my husband & I can't quit eating them! These are the Best sausage balls I've ever had. The celery & onions add just the right crunch & flavor. The bisquit mix is just enough to hold them together, but keep them juicy. Try these, they are excellent.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maqua January 17, 2003

These are very easy to make and taste so good. Crunchy on the outside but moist inside! They were a hit at my Superbowl party. Thanks Inez for the idea. I also like the idea of celery and onion in the ingredients. It was different from other sausage balls and made them look appealing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 27, 2003

This was a winner at the Christmas family get togther-I made 3 batches! By the 3rd batch I had made a couple of adjustments...mind you these are wonderful as is - the taste vaguely reminds you of stuffing...by the 3rd batch I had to use minced green pepper b/c I ran out of celery, I used a little minced garlic as suggested by some other reviewers, and upped the Bisquick and cheese to 1 C. each. That was my own personal favorite combination. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
youngdovefarm December 26, 2009

You can't beat this particular recipe. A complete meal rolled up in a little ball! I keep them in the fridge for breakfast because my kids can't get enough of them (they heat well). Hint: aluminum foil makes clean up MUCH easier!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennabelle December 18, 2009

These are amazing! Not dry, like many other recipes, and very flavorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Menel December 30, 2013

These are sooooooo much better than those dry "Bisquick balls". I can actually taste the sausage! I used 1/2 Jimmy Dean Hot, and 1/2 Maple flavored sausage. Had to omit the celery, had none, but will defineately add it next time.....and there will be a next time. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 September 23, 2012

We'll definitely be having these again! We ate them like meatballs, with pasta and red sauce, but I know they'd be just as good all by themselves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan at Food.com June 11, 2012

Loved these. Better than the recipe w/ 3 cups Bisquick. I used a cheddar/garlice biscuit mix and even added a little extra garlic. Really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Cole October 24, 2009

I had something like this at a party years ago and found them good and wanted to make them. Well the first recipe I had was similar to the ones other reviewers talked about with more biscuick mix. At that time, I did not understand that I wasn't supposed to precook the sausage so it turned out like cake with sausage in it. Edible, but not so great. Then I found your recipe and now understood that I did not need to precook the sausage. I took Cayenne Girl's advice for a dipping sauce and made mine from cranberry sauce and cream cheese. They turned out great and I loved them just as is, didn't think they ended up needing a dipping sauce although it was tasty. Thanks for posting - these are GOOD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick June 22, 2009

Absolutely the best sausage balls I've ever had. I use Hot Sausage and yellow onion. For a side dip, I mix rasberry preserves with softened cream cheese. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cayenne girl April 20, 2009
Cheesy Sausage Balls