Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Sausage Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Sausage Balls

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2003

      Just made these ahead for company tomorrow. I will have to run to the store for more ingredients because my husband & I can't quit eating them! These are the Best sausage balls I've ever had. The celery & onions add just the right crunch & flavor. The bisquit mix is just enough to hold them together, but keep them juicy. Try these, they are excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      These are very easy to make and taste so good. Crunchy on the outside but moist inside! They were a hit at my Superbowl party. Thanks Inez for the idea. I also like the idea of celery and onion in the ingredients. It was different from other sausage balls and made them look appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This was a winner at the Christmas family get togther-I made 3 batches! By the 3rd batch I had made a couple of adjustments...mind you these are wonderful as is - the taste vaguely reminds you of stuffing...by the 3rd batch I had to use minced green pepper b/c I ran out of celery, I used a little minced garlic as suggested by some other reviewers, and upped the Bisquick and cheese to 1 C. each. That was my own personal favorite combination. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      You can't beat this particular recipe. A complete meal rolled up in a little ball! I keep them in the fridge for breakfast because my kids can't get enough of them (they heat well). Hint: aluminum foil makes clean up MUCH easier!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      These are amazing! Not dry, like many other recipes, and very flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      These are sooooooo much better than those dry "Bisquick balls". I can actually taste the sausage! I used 1/2 Jimmy Dean Hot, and 1/2 Maple flavored sausage. Had to omit the celery, had none, but will defineately add it next time.....and there will be a next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      We'll definitely be having these again! We ate them like meatballs, with pasta and red sauce, but I know they'd be just as good all by themselves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Loved these. Better than the recipe w/ 3 cups Bisquick. I used a cheddar/garlice biscuit mix and even added a little extra garlic. Really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I had something like this at a party years ago and found them good and wanted to make them. Well the first recipe I had was similar to the ones other reviewers talked about with more biscuick mix. At that time, I did not understand that I wasn't supposed to precook the sausage so it turned out like cake with sausage in it. Edible, but not so great. Then I found your recipe and now understood that I did not need to precook the sausage. I took Cayenne Girl's advice for a dipping sauce and made mine from cranberry sauce and cream cheese. They turned out great and I loved them just as is, didn't think they ended up needing a dipping sauce although it was tasty. Thanks for posting - these are GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Absolutely the best sausage balls I've ever had. I use Hot Sausage and yellow onion. For a side dip, I mix rasberry preserves with softened cream cheese. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      These were wonderful little appetizers. We had our christmas get together a few weeks back, and even though everyone was dissappointed that I didn't make my usual stuffed mushrooms, they all raved about these. Thanks again for a great recipe mizznezz....I have many of yours in my cookbook. Jan 20, 2009...Made these again for the same party as last year, everyone still loved them. I had an issue with all of the mix and cheese not blending in with the sausage, but found if you just sprinkle whatever is left in the bowl on the balls before baking.....absolutely wonderful. Thanks again mizznezz for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      the best sausage balls!!! i always double the recipe and use 1 lb. hot sausage and 1 lb. maple sausage. gives a great sweet-hot taste. used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. these always get rave reviews and people can't stop eating them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I made these for our Christmas Eve party and everyone loved them. Some of us ended up dipping them in Rotel Cheese Dip and really had a food-gasmic experience. I was told to add these to the must make list for all future parties. I chose this particular recipe because it doesn't call for a huge amount of biscuit mix. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      these were pretty good. Different from the standard recipe. Probably a little healthier too since the fat drained out of these more. I like the texture of the standard recipe better, but the taste of these are better. More flavorful...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Thanks MizzNezz for a real winner! I did make a couple of modifications to the recipe (I was in panic mode with guests arriving shortly). I only used the sausage, mix, cheddar and seasonings. I found I had to add about 1/4 cup milk to get the balls to hold their shape and as a result of that I think they turned out a bit more like mini biscuits than balls, but people snarfed them regardless. We all agreed these tasted like sausage biscuits from you-know-where and would be good dipped in a bit of melted jam! Thanks again for an easy, tasty winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Perfect Balance! I tried this recipe years ago, using 3 cups of Bisquick to 1 lb. of sausage. My husband hated them. I made MizzNezz recipe for Christmas Eve and my husband loved them. He couldn't get over the savory, moist and chewy goodness. Toss out the "standard" recipe and go with MizzNezz. Thanks for a great do-ahead that hits a home run! MaggieVolk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      My guests raved about these and wanted the recipe. I did add about a 1/2 package thawed chopped spinach because I didn't want it to go to waste. These were delicious and so easy to make. I just used a mini-scoop and dropped them onto a jellyroll pan. It couldn't have been simpler!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      I made these last night for Thanksgiving for a different twist on sausage balls. I used sage jimmy dean and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I think they are good but they taste like little stuffing balls to me.I'm sure they will go over well on Thanksgiving.Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      This is the best recipe for sausage balls. I've tried other versions that are either too powdery (from the biscuit mix) or just flavorless. I make these once a year for Thanksgiving, and they're gone before I get a chance to set the baking sheet down. If you find them a bit greasy, drain the sausage balls on paper towels before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      This is a great variation of a popular recipe! I loved the addition of the celery and onion. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Sausage Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (845 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 935.7
     
    Calories from Fat 661
    70%
    Total Fat 73.5 g
    113%
    Saturated Fat 32.0 g
    160%
    Cholesterol 167.9 mg
    55%
    Sodium 2180.4 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 39.9 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites