16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUMMY and very different. I made and enjoyed this recipe for Aus/NZ Swap Jan 2010 DH and DS liked it as well. I read through the reviews but did not find the sauce too thick, however I did use 2% milk and the cottage cheese. Maybe the ricotta would make it thicker. This is a lovely dinner but lots of pans to make it. Well worth the effort to put together and I think next time it will go faster for me. I used rotini noodles, cottage cheese, sharp chedder and low fat mozzerella. plus extra parm on top. I did not have bread crumbs, thought I did but couldn't find them. I did leave out the mushrooms (medical) but did add in more peppers. This is going to be a rotating dish for us as it is comforting, smells great, and warms up the tummy on these very cold days. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie January 07, 2010

My hubby really liked this recipe and the flavours. From some of the other reviews, for the sauce, I decided to to cut back on the flour and some cheese & substituted yogurt for the cottage cheese. For the vegys, I added minced garlic and some finely chopped jalapeno pepper & increased the mushrooms. Cut back abit on pasta & increased the amount of sausage. It was a perfect consistency for us. It's was also a nice change from a tomato based sausage recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 January 24, 2009

No one in my family was a big fan of this. It was overly hearty, I believe. The sauce turned out a bit thick, even after adding about 1/2 cup more milk than this called for. The flavor just wasn't there. This could be a good recipe if it weren't so thick and had a bit more lively flavor to it. Improve it! And let me know!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhackg0d June 05, 2008

Great recipe! I had made Atsa Spicy Pizza Sausage for the sausage. I added 1 cup more milk and 1 T more flour. I didn't have any ricotta or cottage and it was still delish! I also used Italian Breadcrumbs for the breadcrumbs. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady September 13, 2007

Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celia_47 May 06, 2007

This is really good! I used grilled sweet basil Italian sausages, cottage cheese and the only shrooms I had were portabello. I did increase the milk by one cup. Other then that I made as directed. Nice and saucy.:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama April 02, 2007

This was ok, needed to be more saucy though, might try again more saucy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kel-Cie T March 16, 2007

Very tasty! Thanks Leslie! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragngirle September 15, 2006

Tried it last night for my husband. I had Melton Mowbray sausages (www.porkpie.co.uk), used mozzerella and cheddar. It was ABSOLUTELY fantastic! Will do it again for friends! Thanks! Jemima

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bristol-jemima July 16, 2006

Yum, DH ate half of this in one sitting, then sat around complaining about how full he was. Typical. Anyways, we had a few modifications. I was halfway through the prep when I realized I had no mushrooms, we Always have mushrooms, but not this time, not even one of those little cans. So we skipped the mushrooms but I can imagine they would have been great. Also I used some ground Italian Sweet Sausage that I cooked up (and kept in chunks) and used that. I sauteed the green onions and red peppers in with the sausage. Everything turned out great. Thanks Leslie!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 July 10, 2006
Cheesy Sausage and Pasta Bake