12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a good and really easy side dish that I prepared for our lunch today..... Both of my kids loved it and ate two helpings.... Next time, I'll use about 2 1/2 cups of broth and add a bit of salt and maybe garlic powder to enhance the flavor a bit.... Thanks so much for sharing and we'll be preparing this simple dish again.....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 June 18, 2008

I made this for my lunch the other day and it was very good. Had Velveeta cheese on hand so I cubed that and added it. Added some fresh ground pepper when serving and enjoyed! Thank you Sue for a keeper. Made and reviewed for KK's Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 30, 2009

Mmmm, Susan, what a great, great, easy recipe!!! :) I made it for my sis and me as a quick dinner and we both enjoyed it immensely! The rice is so creamy and cheesy and the broccoli adds a nice, fresh flavour. I used old-fashioned rice and fresh broccoli, so I had to cook it a little longer, but that was no problem at all. I still had the dish on the table in nearly no time. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this speedy, yummy recipe with us! A definite keeper! Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game September 09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 18, 2009

Great, super easy recipe! I love that I didn't have to bake it in a casserole. Will make again, thanks for the keeper! *Next time I'll try adding shredded carrots to sneak them in for hte kiddos :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz October 21, 2013

I liked that this didn't call for a canned soup mix or Velveeta. I also felt that the completed dish was somewhat dry. I added a little bit of milk and it seemed to help make it creamier. I also added some pepper & a dash of salt on the finished dish, this brought out the sharpness of the shredded cheddar. I think that I probably used only half of the (fresh) chopped broccoli that was called for, that's what I had on hand (may have attributed to the dryness). The broccoli was nice and tender. Thanks CoffeeB!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau January 30, 2012

This is so simple to prepare. The taste is great and we enjoyed it very much. I only made half the batch and it was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 20, 2010

Delicious. I used regualr rice and tossed in the broc about halfway thru the cooking time. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 November 19, 2009

Very nice side. Made using regular rice cooked in chicken broth (increasing the cooking time), also used fat free cheese. There was a coin toss as to who got the left over for there lunch for there next day. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 10, 2009

Nice side dish. I used vegetable stock for my vegetarian son, but will use chicken next time. I also used a parboiled/wild rice combination, just to boost the nutritional value a little. In doing so, I had to increase the cooking time a little. Because of that, I precooked the broccoli in the stock and then removed it, so it wouldn't over cook. Made for TYM Tag Game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama September 11, 2009

Pretty good! flavor was nice. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. April 07, 2009
Cheesy Rice and Broccoli