10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these tasty potatoes tonight to go with some bbq'd brisket. I didn't have time for the slow cooker so I cooked them on the stove. The only change I made was to use cheddar cheese soup because the grandkids are picky and they don't like spicy food. They really enjoyed the potatoes and so did the adults. Made for PRMR, January, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry January 02, 2013

The only change I made was to cook the potatoes on the stove top and then added the remainder of the ingredients and cooked until done. We served this with meat loaf and peas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie April 04, 2011

This was another recipe that was easy to make. I used a can of plain cheddar cheese soup since I could not find the can of Fiesta nacho. (I know it is in the cupboard somewhere) I also used fat-free sour cream to light it up a little. I did top this with some pre-cooked bacon bits. Made for *Please Review My Recipe*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 24, 2010

Creamy, zesty taters, Delish! I doubled the batch and increased the cooking time by one hour. I used russet potatoes and cut them into 1 1/2 inch cubes. I also used Hidden Valley's Southwestern Ranch Mix. MMM. I stirred in the bacon right before serving. and I forgot to add the parsley. Will be having this again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef June 22, 2009

I used 2 1/2 lbs idaho potatoes, but I think I should have used small red skin potatoes. Once I saw that the potatoes were to be quartered, I cut the potatoes into 1/2 inch quarters and proceeded with the recipe. I wasn't sure if the bacon was to be sprinkled over the top when serving, or mixed into the sauce with the potatoes, since the directions did not indicate where the bacon went. I put it into the sauce with the potatoes, but I would probably sprinkle the bacon on the top upon serving next time. I couldn't find Fiesta Cheese soup, so I used Cheddar Cheese soup. My potatoes took almost 8 1/2 hours to get tender. I chose to cook this on the weekend because of the short crock pot cooking time. But they took much longer to cook than I thought, and my crock pot normally cooks everything faster. These potatoes were good, but not great. No one asked for seconds, and no one asked for the recipe:( After 8 1/2 hours of cooking, they were still very tough. I plan on putting the leftovers into a 9 x 13 pan and doctoring them up a bit to use them up. Giving this a 4 because the sauce tasted pretty good, and maybe I should just have known that I needed to use small red skin potatoes for this recipe. They cook much quicker than idahos. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 15, 2009

yummy yummy! Pure comfort in a crockpot! lol. Love ranch anything so I knew I would love this. The potatoes were nice and tender and the "sauce" was perfectly flavored. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo January 21, 2009

I absolutely love this recipe for the simple fact that I was able to throw this together in no time and have a great comfort type food ready for when we got home from church. I put the crock on high for two hours and low for two hours. Perfect. The fiesta cheese soup is what really kicks these potatoes up a notch and adds just the right amount of zing. I"m sure the dry ranch had a bit to do with it too, but it's just one great tasting recipe. A definite keeper. Thanks WEC. Made for 123Hits~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB September 14, 2008

I just started experimenting with side dishes in the crock pot. This was easy to make and easy to throw together. I followed the recipe as written other then I used Hormel bacon bits instead of the bacon. I didn't add the optional parsley either. Mine were done in under three hours. Nice side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol August 22, 2008

A great down home over yonder kinda potato. I followed this pretty much on cue except mine was done earlier as I had it set on 3 hour, (higher cook) since I started in the afternoon yesterday. I also pre-cooked the onion a bit in a pan with a bit of cooking spray. I was able to halve this easily, and it came out great tasting. I used Baco bacon bits instead of bacon for preference only. Delicious and will make this often. The Fiesta nacho soup was tasty in this! Thanks weekend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 15, 2008
Cheesy Ranch Bacon Slow Cooker Potatoes