Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Potatoes Au Gratin

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2013

      Loved these potatoes and they were very easy to make. I was heavy-handed with the seasonings and our potatoes had a wonderful garlic and onion flavor. Went great with a pork roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      Allthough the recipe was very easy and quick, it didn't make quite the au gratin I was hoping for. The cheese and the cream didn't seem to mix and make a cheese sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Very good...would give 5 stars if there had been more seasoning listed but over all a delicious and easy recipe. I only made a few changes: shredded the potatoes, per dd's request, used shredded American cheese as that was what I had on hand, and used Miss Tink's House Seasoning after reading the reviews. Sliced smoked turkey sausage on top for the last bit of cooking, made a great main dish served with steamed green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! I baked it as indicated in recipe and potatoes cooked just right, not sure why some have had a problem (not using foil?). Very cheezy. Threw in some chopped fresh jalapeno between layers. Thanks so much for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      AWESOME! This was so much better than a store bought package...and so easy too. I did find it needed a little longer in the oven (though maybe I cut my potatoes to thick).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Very good, quick & easy. Might try adding thinly sliced onion next time for more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      These were very good, but I would of liked more garlic and onion flavor. Next time I will not as lightly season them and maybe add a layer of thinly sliced onions

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      We made this to go with ham and it was a really great combo! I didn't have onion powder so we used an onion, thinly sliced. I really felt like it could use a little more of something...maybe just more salt and garlic next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I love this recipe!! I didnt use the powders, but thinly sliced onion and but it in the layers. I use 5% cream and it is great. I put it in the oven and cook way before dinner and just reheat in microwave, so I can be assured that it is cooked. Great fried the next day for leftovers. The cream never reaches the top, even when I add a bit more cream, (I used 5 potatoes) so maybe this is why I have to cook longer. I make it with Egyptian Chicken Panne (Breaded Fried Chicken Breasts)Egyptian Chicken Panne (Breaded Fried Chicken Breasts) and this combo is our new family favourite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Excellent! I only had powdered milk, so I warmed it up a bit and infused it with garlic, basil and fresh ground pepper to give it more flavor, and used 1 full cup instead of 3/4 cup. I used 6 medium sized new potatoes and 1 roughly chopped onion, and layered the onions with the potatoes. The milk didn't come up over the potatoes, but with the foil on, everything cooked up perfectly anyway. Best I've ever had! Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

    • on December 30, 2006

      I'd give this 10 stars if I could! It was so easy to prepare (I used my food processor to slice up fingerling potatoes). My boyfriend, who has always thought he didn't like potatoes au gratin, raved about it and went back for seconds (then pretended to lick his plate). Thank you for an easy and delicious recipe! The seasonings were great too, by the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      Superb! I had a big bag of potatoes to use up and a huge bag of grated Cheddar and these fit the bill! All the rest of the ingredeients I had on hand. You are so right it is the Onion and Garlic powder that gives them the unique flavor. I used Half and Half because it was what I had but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      5 stars for taste and easy preparation! The garlic and onion powder added just the right touch of flavor to this recipe. I made as directed only adding a touch more heavy cream to make sure the potatoes would be covered. I will look forward to the next time I use this recipe again! Thanks so much for posting, Chippie : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      This was very good! In an effort to reduce calories, I used shredded 2% cheddar cheese and fat-free half and half and the end results were rich and delicious! I also finely diced about 1/3 c. onion and minced 2 cloves of garlic and sprinkled these over the potato layers instead of the onion and garlic powders. Thanks for a definite keeper, Chippie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      This was yummy! I could have just eaten the whole pan for dinner. lol Thanks for the great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      I was really craving some potatoes au gratin, but only had cheddar cheese at home. I'm so used to making it with gruyere, but this recipe turned out just as good despite the dif. cheese. I didn't add any of the spices, only salt and pepper. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      This was soooo good. When I reached for the onion powder, the jar was empty. So I sprinkled dehydrated onion liberally into the mix and the finished product was still delicious. This will be a mainstay. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      Very good and quick and easy to make. It got nice and brown and bubbly. I will definately make this again, but perhaps with a different type of cheese. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Potatoes Au Gratin

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.8
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    65%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 90.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 200.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites