27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a quick and easy potato dish! I made this on a camping trip and everyone loved it. It's a dish that can easily be varied by adding chopped onion, green pepper etc if you wish... although it certainly did not need it. Thank you Mary for sharing this. :-)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot October 28, 2002

This was one of the best potato dishes i have ever had!! I just made it for my valentines dinner for my honey and he loved it!! It was so creamy and delicious!! If you like dairy, this will definately be a favorite like it is mine! Thanks~

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinkbug43 February 14, 2003

This is a big hit on our camping trips. I replaced the Velveeta with shredded cheddar after I made it the first time (I'm suspicious of Velveeta as a food product), and I use Cream of Chicken & Herb soup instead. Some times add onion or bacon.<br/>Leftovers are great the next morning too in a frying pan with eggs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halfdragon April 30, 2014

It's quick, it's easy, and it's yummy. Everyone loves it too. A no brainer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlheml May 14, 2011

All I can say is 5 stars all the way and very easy to make. It was definately the star of the meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH September 27, 2010

Wow. Delicious. I made these for Easter dinner to go with my sister's ham and everyone raved about them I added crispy bacon (crumbled) and finely chopped onion and used Campbell's Cream of Chicken w/ Herbs. Soooooooo good. Didn't have any leftovers so I'll have to make these again real soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgeann Dodge April 04, 2010

Made a double batch - put 3/4 in the crockpot and 1/4 went to a non cooking friend (What's up with that???) We liked the crock pot version - we LOVED the version cooked in the oven at 350 for 1 hr. I did add about 1/4 c hot sauce per batch - and used cream of onion soup instead of cream of chicken. Awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! September 23, 2009

I have not tried this recipe, yet. I accidentally wrote a review for another recipe and it showed up here.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Surie September 18, 2009

Okay but not outstanding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heavenslice July 29, 2009

I'm not sure if I'm really rating this recipe or not because I changed some things. I eliminated the butter and the velveeta, used 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar, added fresh ground pepper, and added chopped red onion (only onion I had). I know that using frozen diced onions works in this too. I may use a little butter next time but it doesn't REALLY need it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesley G July 13, 2009
Cheesy Potatoes