11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice cheesy potato soup. I made this on top of the stove. The only kind of hash browns I had on hand were the hash brown patties so I broke those up in a fry pan and fried them nice and crispy. I took the onions, celery, and carrots threw them and the potatoes in a can of chicken broth and simmered for about 45 min. until the veggies were done. I did not use ham. Then I threw in home made evaporated milk and some cheese, simmered another 15 min. and it was ready to eat. It hit the spot for a cold day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 January 23, 2012

This was absolutely amazing! I did not have any bouillon, so I substituted that with onion soup mix. Also used a potato masher towards the end to thicken it up just a little bit. I chowed down on it with some warm bread and it tastes great. Next time I will try the instant potatoes idea and use a bread bowl :-D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNowicke January 08, 2012

Wonderful crock-pot soup. The only change I made was to leave out the celery and carrots. This is now in my rotation for my weekends when I cook several meals to have homemade lunches to take to work that week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morninggirl5 January 07, 2012

Quick and easy. I like my soup thick, I only used half the milk and half a package of instant potatoes. I also used more cheese and added celery!! Yummy!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pzimmerman75 November 06, 2011

This is so delicious! I made the following changes: 6 tsp. chicken boullion, no ham. Because some reviewers said the soup wasn't thick enough, I mixed one 'can' of my homemade cream of chicken soup (prepared extra thick) with the milk before adding. The consistency was perfect. I also added some poultry seasoning for extra flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn December 21, 2009

mmmm..... :) love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life July 12, 2009

Delicious flavor and very easy--let the crock pot do all the work. I would have liked it a little thicker and wish I would have known the potato flakes trick another reviewer mentioned. I did try to add a little cornstarch, but it didn't really thicken it. Maybe refrigeration will help to thicken it up. All that said, we loved it, and my husband had two bowls. Made just as posted and will make again. Thanks for an easy tasty soup recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
h.glenda March 01, 2009

Very good flavor and easy to make. I used leftover ham and yukon gold potatos, didn't have any celery, but didn't miss it too much. Also used 2% Velveta and homemade evaporated milk. Wonderfull flavor, DH and I enjoyed it. I did add some potato flakes to the leftover soup while still on the stove, we like our potato soup thicker...but just a personal preference. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 January 08, 2009

VERY Good and VERY simple! Added Bacon instead of ham since it was what we had on hand, also added a bit more velveeta than called for since we are big cheese fans. We will be making this again. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy March 07, 2008

This is a delicious and easy soup to make. The flavor is wonderful. I used half and half instead of the evaporated milk because I didn't have any and that worked out very well. I also used 2 percent Velveeta because that's all the store had at the time, but it didn't hurt it a bit. And I'm always looking for ways to reduce some calories. My mother-in-law always used to add sausage to her potato soup and I think I will try that next time just for a change. The ham is a tasty additioni, though. I served this with some crusty bread and two of my guys had two bowls. They loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 December 28, 2006
Cheesy Potato Soup ( Crock Pot )