15 Reviews

I totally loved this potato salad but next time I will leave out the sugar altogether. I used 1/2 the sugar this time and loved it but I know I will love it more w/o sugar. Made for Aus/NZ tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn January 02, 2013

This is a very good potato salad and I didn't use any sugar in it. In my opinion the sugar would detract from the salad. It's really tasty with the cheese and bacon and was a hit with the grilled cheese burgers tonight. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 02, 2013

This was a yummy potato salad, my husband really liked it because it didn't have eggs in it. I only added a tinny bit of sugar and also limited the cheese. A nice change from the average potato salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser March 31, 2013

This is a great easy recipe.
I did have only a couple of changes and only because it was what I hand on hand at tht time, and needed to use up. I used red onion and only 1 teaspoon of sugar, and also only had ham on hand, so I used that instead of bacopn bits.
I did only top the salad with the cheees, as I meeded the salad to keep until the next day and thought the cheese might go soft and squishy with the mayo and sour cream.
DS had this and loved it, he thought it was just sweet enough and loved the mayonaisse and sour cream combo. I made it for him for his lunch today and also some for the next day to take with him. I doubt by tomorrow there will be any left and when DD comes home and see's it sitting in the fridge it will be a battle of the wit's I am sure.
Great recipe AZ.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme October 16, 2010

I only had yukon gold potatoes and they were getting old so we peeled them. I used fat-free sour cream, light mayonnaise. I reduced the sugar to 1/8 cup. Perfect that way. This is creamy a lot but I like it that way. Thanks a lot Nikki :) It's so yummy. Made for Holiday tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 11, 2010

This may be the best potato salad I've ever had! I was embarassed by how much of it I ate but it was just too good to not have one more bite, then one more, then another one....... The only change I made was to use very little sugar and I added chopped celery for that extra crunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon T. July 02, 2010

I used to live in Gig Harbor WA. There is a well-known deli that made this. Fortunately, I had a friend who worked there and she shared the recipe. I use finely diced red onion and didn't use sugar. If you make a large batch and don't eat it all, you can always pack it into a baking dish, top with more shredded cheddar cheese and bake at 325 for 20 -30 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Mary June 15, 2010

Cut this recipe in half for the 2 of us & used the smallest red potatoes I could find, then cut 'em in half & steamed 'em! Followed the recipe on down, but did use Hormel's Real Bacon Pieces & had a flavorful treat with this change-of-pace potato salad! Thanks for sharing this cheesy delight! [Made & reviewed in Everyday Is a Holiday recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 03, 2011

Really good and can be easily modified. Thanks for the great, EASY potato salad recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prbrcurls June 21, 2010
Cheesy Potato Salad