Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Potato Hotpot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Potato Hotpot

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2009

      As I made it, this was a three star dish, but I think with the changes I would make next time it would be 4 stars. First, it is VERY important to cut the potatoes and onions extremely thin. Use a mandolin or similar device or else it takes a really long time to cook and the slices all fall out every time you try to take a bite. I used a taller casserole dish and layered three times, instead I would recommend a 9x13 pan and layering twice. I would also recommend adding spices with each layer instead of on top. We had to add more vegetable broth and cook it longer, but that may have been because of the thicker potato slices and taller casserole dish. I used goat cheddar for the cheese, next time I might try some hard rosemary goat cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      This is a really simple dish to make and it tastes great. I love how cheesy it tastes but not so much that it tastes like a heart attack :D thanks for a great recipe!Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I made these for my DH last week - his comments exactly "you can make these again any time" I don't often hear that. Thanks for posting - we'll be enjoying these for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      This was a nice side dish and very easy to make.I made exactly as directed. Only thing I would change would be to cook it longer covered as a personal preference because we like our potato a bit more tender. Thanks for sharing Sharon! Made for ZWT 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      these potatoes are really good I cooked them for a lil longer due to the taters being not done fullly made and reviewed for zwt 5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This was really good! I didn't use quite a whole onion though... Got two layers of potatoes onions and cheese and used just the potatoes and cheese on the last hour. Left the skin on the potatoes, and the cooking time was spot on. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      These were a very tasty version of a scalloped potatoes without all the cream LOL I cooked longer since the poatoes still seemed hard after 45 minutes. I did two layers and added more broth . Made for Aus/NZ region for ZWT 5 for team Zaar Chow Hounds

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This was a fantastic dinner. My husband and daughter like instant potatoes the best, but they both loved this dish. I think I'll only use 1/2 and onion next time, but it was great, even for lunch the next day. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Yummy! I used cheddar cheese and on top I added a little bit of Appenzeller cheese. The smell was awful but it tasted great :P I used chicken stock. Juste a little bit of butter. And I think it can be optional (for me of course). I used paprika. No salt and pepper and no garlic powder. I wanted to taste the cheese and that's what I got. Thanks Sharon :) Made for zaar star game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      Oh yummy! Cheese and potatoes what's not to like :) Had this with lamb steaks and DiScharf's baked onions a very yummy meal. These were very easy to prepare and tasted delicious. Thank you for posting Sharon123 a recipe that I will visit often. Shirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      My husband and I really enjoyed this. It was very easy to put together and had everything on hand. As I layered the dish I seasoned it with the salt, pepper and garlic powder. This is total comfort food. I will make it again. Made for Fall PAC 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      This was a very quick and easy side dish to make. I liked that I had everything on hand to make it. Thanks for posting it, I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

    • on October 21, 2006

      Easy and tasty recipe. I did add salt, pepper and garlic powder to give it a kick. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      Very good, easy and economical. I always have these things on hand and it was very tasty. I added a bit of garlic and a lot of salt and pepper. I will for sure make these again many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      Easy, cheesey and delicious. I took your little tip and used a mix of shredded cheddar and shredded Swiss..... Mmmmmmmm.... I highly recommend doing that. I made 2 layers of potatoes, onions and cheese. I didn't peel my potatoes. Cook time was right on target. Thanx for posting; it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Potato Hotpot

    Serving Size: 1 (464 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 476.0
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    27%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 44.9 mg
    14%
    Sodium 307.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.3 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites