16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As I made it, this was a three star dish, but I think with the changes I would make next time it would be 4 stars. First, it is VERY important to cut the potatoes and onions extremely thin. Use a mandolin or similar device or else it takes a really long time to cook and the slices all fall out every time you try to take a bite. I used a taller casserole dish and layered three times, instead I would recommend a 9x13 pan and layering twice. I would also recommend adding spices with each layer instead of on top. We had to add more vegetable broth and cook it longer, but that may have been because of the thicker potato slices and taller casserole dish. I used goat cheddar for the cheese, next time I might try some hard rosemary goat cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni December 08, 2009

This is a really simple dish to make and it tastes great. I love how cheesy it tastes but not so much that it tastes like a heart attack :D thanks for a great recipe!Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Gurl June 13, 2009

I made these for my DH last week - his comments exactly "you can make these again any time" I don't often hear that. Thanks for posting - we'll be enjoying these for years to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo May 25, 2009

This was a nice side dish and very easy to make.I made exactly as directed. Only thing I would change would be to cook it longer covered as a personal preference because we like our potato a bit more tender. Thanks for sharing Sharon! Made for ZWT 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slim PA May 24, 2009

these potatoes are really good I cooked them for a lil longer due to the taters being not done fullly made and reviewed for zwt 5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stovetop stephanie May 22, 2009

This was really good! I didn't use quite a whole onion though... Got two layers of potatoes onions and cheese and used just the potatoes and cheese on the last hour. Left the skin on the potatoes, and the cooking time was spot on. Yummy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe May 17, 2009

These were a very tasty version of a scalloped potatoes without all the cream LOL I cooked longer since the poatoes still seemed hard after 45 minutes. I did two layers and added more broth . Made for Aus/NZ region for ZWT 5 for team Zaar Chow Hounds

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 May 17, 2009

This was a fantastic dinner. My husband and daughter like instant potatoes the best, but they both loved this dish. I think I'll only use 1/2 and onion next time, but it was great, even for lunch the next day. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ausntan March 16, 2009

Yummy! I used cheddar cheese and on top I added a little bit of Appenzeller cheese. The smell was awful but it tasted great :P I used chicken stock. Juste a little bit of butter. And I think it can be optional (for me of course). I used paprika. No salt and pepper and no garlic powder. I wanted to taste the cheese and that's what I got. Thanks Sharon :) Made for zaar star game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 05, 2008

Oh yummy! Cheese and potatoes what's not to like :) Had this with lamb steaks and DiScharf's baked onions a very yummy meal. These were very easy to prepare and tasted delicious. Thank you for posting Sharon123 a recipe that I will visit often. Shirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: October 01, 2007
Cheesy Potato Hotpot